TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Model S in SC for windshield replacement, now it has TPMS issues???

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by jay-bay, Mar 11, 2015.

  1. jay-bay

    jay-bay Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    East Bay Cali
    Hey everyone,

    I didn't which thread to put this in so mods can move if appropriate. So Monday morning on my way to work, driving on I-680 a huge golf ball size rock flies up out of nowhere and hits my windshield. Leaves a nice crack and start of a hole. I call my insurance and Tesla Service immediately and they setup an appointment the next day, Tues. for them to replace the windshield. So I drop off my car Tues morning in Fremont for the repair, they give me a ICE as loaner, (all out of loaner S's), and I head to work. They said it should be ready by the end of the day. Well sure enough, I get a call at the end of the day saying that it is ready for pickup and so after work I head back to Fremont to pick it up.

    I talk to the Service Advisor and look over the paperwork to get my car, we shake hands, and I get in my car to leave and notice that a firmware update has been done (to .179). The windshield looks great, and then I start to drive away. Well while still on Fremont Blvd, I see that the TPMS indicator light is on and isn't going away so I double check the paperwork and I confirmed that they adjusted the tire pressure to 45 PSI, which I think is standard? So I pull the car back into the Service Center and go back to the service advisor and let him know. He drives it around the parking lot and it doesn't go away. He then says he's going to pull it back into the shop for the technicians to check it. Well they check the tire pressure and everything seems normal, but they can't figure out why the indicator light won't turn off. I said that this indicator light never showed up on the previous firmware and asked if they could roll it back. There answer? No, we can't do that. Now I've worked in many different production environments and have never heard of NOT being able to roll back a push. :confused: Anyway, this all happened yesterday. Today (3/11) they look over the car again and then decide that the issue was the TPMS Control Unit and that they are going to replace it. I responded back with, I don't think that is the issue because it was working perfectly prior to you guys updating the firmware. The Service Advisor didn't respond back to me. Well this afternoon around 4pm, I get another email from him, "We've replaced the TPMS control unit and that didn't fix it, we're going to need to continue to investigate this." UGH!

    I did tell them that I'd be happy to sign an NDA if they wanted to give me a newer firmware like..*cough*..6.2...*cough*. :biggrin: They didn't respond to that either.:( And to think, this all started with a windshield replacement...:rolleyes:
     
  2. dirkhh

    dirkhh Middle-aged Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,645
    Location:
    Portland, OR, USA
    Good thing this didn't work or dozens of us would be out there throwing golf ball sized rocks at our windshield in hopes to be added to the EAP... :-D
     
  3. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,715
    Location:
    So Cal
    Weird. On .179 here too, but no permanent TPMS issues. I do have an intermittent issue where the car throws a TPMS needs service error randomly and then it goes away but this behavior has survived various 6.x builds. Perhaps it is a specific hardware incompatibility with your car? Speculating, but maybe a reflash of the same firmware might do the trick? May not have grabbed the appropriate driver file.
     
  4. dirkhh

    dirkhh Middle-aged Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,645
    Location:
    Portland, OR, USA
    Intermittent random errors. Hmm - your Sig of course doesn't tell you which one it is. Has the SC looked into this? My guess would be that one of the four sensors is faulty...
     
  5. apacheguy

    apacheguy Sig 255, VIN 320

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3,715
    Location:
    So Cal
    No. I'll have it checked out when it's in for annual service next.
     
  6. patrick40363

    patrick40363 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Cali
    Tire pressure is 50 PSI on my 85D.

     
  7. dirkhh

    dirkhh Middle-aged Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,645
    Location:
    Portland, OR, USA
    #7 dirkhh, Mar 11, 2015
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2015
    There was discussion on this in another thread. Some cars show a recommended pressure of 45psi, others show 50psi. I don't think there was a consensus why that was happening...
     
  8. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,396
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    As someone else alluded through up thread, the firmware could be misconfigured for the Op's car and be trying to apply the 50 psi expectation against the 45 psi sticker and making the TPMS sensors feel there is an under inflation event. But this is pure speculation on my part.
     
  9. jay-bay

    jay-bay Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    East Bay Cali
    What size of tires do you have? 19's or 21's?
     
  10. jay-bay

    jay-bay Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Location:
    East Bay Cali
    Well they fixed my car yesterday. Turns out the problem was a dead fuse. Once they replaced it the notification went away.
     
  11. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,396
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I'm glad they figured it out, but I am a bit surprised that they replaced the TPMS control unit before ever checking the fuse.
     

Share This Page