TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Model S required hard reset

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by TTT, Nov 9, 2014.

  1. TTT

    TTT Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    San Diego
    I had a scare this morning, hopped in for a drive and found the dash and 17" screen were blank. I haven't even made my first payment and the car was bricked? I tried the soft resets, held down the scroll wheels for 30 seconds and also tried holding down the two top buttons above the scroll wheels. Pressing on the brakes only turned on the front headlights and nothing else. Called the Tesla Worldwide Service number and he had me try the soft resets again. He ended up connecting me with the SC and the SC had me do a hard reset (he did offer to send someone out on a Sunday, but I had to get someplace and was going to use my ICE). Without getting into much detail, the hard reset worked and after doing so, the SC was able to connect to my car and download the logs to figure out what happened. Kudos for the support, took all of 15 minutes. Now I know how to do a hard reset and manually open the Frunk.
    The SC recommends keeping the energy savings on nightly, this will reboot your car every night so the different modules don't get out of sync (which may have led to the issue I encountered) and check the Always Connected box that is available with 6.0
     
  2. bonnie

    bonnie Oil is for sissies.

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    14,241
    Location:
    Columbia River Gorge
    "Bricked" seems a little dramatic for your experience - that has to do with a ruined & unrecoverable battery. It sounds like you had an issue that a software reboot resolved.
     
  3. TTT

    TTT Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    San Diego
    Didn't seem dramtic at the time, got you to read this anyway
     
  4. Grendal

    Grendal Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    2,520
    Location:
    Santa Fe, New Mexico
    I think the more accurate description would be "New MS had a blue screen moment."
     
  5. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,755
    Location:
    Texas
    The only problem is that "aways connected" has a bad vampire drain.
     
  6. Chickenlittle

    Chickenlittle Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1,665
    Location:
    Virginia
    How do you do a hard reset?
     
  7. bonnie

    bonnie Oil is for sissies.

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    14,241
    Location:
    Columbia River Gorge
    Yeah - we're not big on 'click bait' headlines here on TMC. Do you have an alternate name for the thread? I'll update.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Moderator note: Updated thread title from 'MS Bricked?' to 'MS Required Hard Reset'
     
  8. CHG-ON

    CHG-ON Still in love after all these miles

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,766
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, USA
    I would also like to know how to do a hard reset.

    Thanks.
     
  9. Alysashley79

    Alysashley79 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2013
    Messages:
    646
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You have to pull the yellow fuse from the left most box (there are two fuse boxes) pull it out wait 30 seconds put it back in and that's a hard reset.
     
  10. franknesss

    franknesss Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    San Francisco, California, United States
    Do all your settings go away, like Homelink, memory seats, etc... I would assume it does.

     
  11. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,755
    Location:
    Texas
    I don't think so. Most are stored in nonvolatile memory. There might be some loss, but it wouldn't be all.
     
  12. wk057

    wk057 Senior Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,722
    Location:
    Hickory, NC, USA
    I'm curious about the hard reset thing as well...

    When my center screen was replaced earlier, I lost driver profiles, most settings in the "Settings" tab, and bluetooth pairings. Media favs, web bookmarks, nav places (recent chargers, favs, etc), and everything else seemed to remain.
     
  13. rlang59

    rlang59 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    923
    Location:
    US
    That's because the center screen is a computer not just a screen. All of those settings are stored in the non volatile memory in that computer.
     
  14. TTT

    TTT Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    San Diego
    That's correct, I didn't lose any of my customuzation with the hard reset
     
  15. wk057

    wk057 Senior Tinkerer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    4,722
    Location:
    Hickory, NC, USA
    How was this reset performed?
     
  16. franknesss

    franknesss Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    San Francisco, California, United States
    Here's how to do it.

     
  17. zhur0002

    zhur0002 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    Would disconnecting the 12v bat perform a hard reset?

    I wonder if pulling that fuse will make my "Vehicle Needs service car may not restart" message go away and wake my car up.
     
  18. CHG-ON

    CHG-ON Still in love after all these miles

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,766
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, USA
    I will say that I had my girl in for some air suspension fixes and when it came back all my driver profiles were messed up. They were all there, but did not move to where I had set them. Reverse side mirror setting were all lost and have taken some time to reset. Still not back where I would like them. Not sure if this has anything to do with a hard reset, but thought I would share. I have never pulled that fuse.
     

Share This Page