TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Model S to hold over until M3?

Discussion in 'Model S: Ordering, Production, Delivery' started by TravelSD80, Mar 30, 2016.

1. TravelSD80

TravelSD80 Member

So I previously never thought about buying a Model S, as I really don't want to spend $70K+ on a car. While I could afford it, I'm not in love that much with cars to justify it. What I really want is a loaded M3, which is the right size and better price point. I would foresee keeping the M3 8+ years. But I don't know if I'll squeak in under the wire for the tax credits, plus I'll be waiting 2+ years.

I was thinking, why not buy a fairly bare bones S now, which also helps in my M3 waitlist status, and enjoy Tesla in the mean time? I'm a VERY low mileage driver, and located in San Diego. So I figure the resale value of a S would be fairly good.

From a financial perspective, what do you guys think about getting a fairly low end P70 (likely with the auto pilot feature) and then privately sell it when my M3 comes in? Taking the tax credit into account, if I could likely only be out say $10K net then I'd do it in an instant. So ~$20K depreciation in 2 years? Or would a better equipped model have better resale value? I want to minimize depreciation loss.

2. BEEZR

BEEZR Member

#2 BEEZR, Mar 30, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2016
    I'm thinking along the same lines, but I think the depreciation hit will be greater than that. Say you configure the car to $75K, I'm thinking it's going to be worth $50K in 2 years. Maybe closer to $45K... But this is all just unfounded speculation... :) Noting that the residual calculation for a 3-year lease is currently going to take that car below $50K, and the residuals are usually overstated vs. market value.