TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Model S/X deliveries with Intel-based MCU

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by andrewket, Mar 13, 2018.

  1. andrewket

    andrewket Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,699
    I’m hearing reports that Tesla has delivered Model S and X with Intel-based MCUs, the same chipset being used in the 3. The screen footprint remains the same.

    I’ll edit this post if I hear of any other updates.

    A
     
    • Informative x 9
    • Helpful x 2
  2. Derek Kessler

    Derek Kessler Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,145
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    If it brings the improved performance of the 3's MCU, I might need to schedule an upgrade...
     
  3. andrewket

    andrewket Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,699
    My thoughts exactly. It’s unclear if it’s just the MCU or if the harness and modules changed too.
     
  4. GatorGuy

    GatorGuy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2018
    Messages:
    533
    Location:
    Jacksonville
    Any easy way to check this?
     
  5. SummitX

    SummitX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Colorado
    I had a brand new loaner Model S 100D yesterday, and I immediately noticed the MCU was quicker than in my Model X built in November 2017. I noticed the difference so much, I thought of making a post here yesterday.

    This was my first time in a Model S, so I don't know if this is a normal difference between the S and X, but there was no screen lag at all on the new S.
     
    • Informative x 9
    • Like x 2
  6. MorrisonHiker

    MorrisonHiker S 100D 2019.8.5

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    6,227
    Location:
    Colorado
    Did the loaner have lighted vanity mirrors as well?
     
    • Like x 1
    • Funny x 1
  7. Joshker

    Joshker Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2017
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Vancouver, Washington
    My S will be delivered next week, just finished production yesterday! The biggest thing that bothered me about choosing the S was the difference in speed between the Model 3 and and S/X MCU. Even if the speed isn't there yet, the fact it would have the latest hardware would make me beyond ecstatic! Who else is reporting these findings?
     
  8. AmpedRealtor

    AmpedRealtor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    5,872
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    My Model S MCU is plenty fast for everything I do, but I don't have Autopilot and maybe the display requirement of that technology is breaking the back of the older Tegra 3. My speedo is the 2013 speedo, not the "retina" resolution speedo they use today. That's a lot more pixels that need to get pushed, I suppose.

    I don't think this is a worthwhile upgrade for most of us, but for new customers it's a welcome improvement.
     
  9. C_Beau

    C_Beau Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    I just took delivery of my 2018 MS 75D which completed production on 2/21/18. I have the new lighted vanity mirrors. I certainly haven't noticed any lag in my 17" screen. If there's a simple way to check the MCU in software settings, I'm happy to investigate. Not sure I'm committed enough to start disassembling trim pieces, though! ;)
     
    • Helpful x 2
    • Like x 2
  10. chillaban

    chillaban Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Messages:
    3,483
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Switch your map between satellite and normal mode, or toggle traffic on and off. Pinch to zoom a bit. That should make it really obvious. The 3 is nearly instantaneously and 60fps smooth in all of those situations, while the S/X is more like 15-20fps.
     
    • Helpful x 2
  11. Krash

    Krash Data Technician

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2017
    Messages:
    1,151
    Location:
    Intermountain US
    #11 Krash, Mar 13, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2018
    Try this SunSpider 0.9.1 JavaScript Benchmark (webkit.org/perf/sunspider-0.9.1/sunspider-0.9.1/driver.html)
    You might have to run it twice.
    Lower scores are better.
    The author here got 3000 or so on the old MCU in 2014. But I get 4500 (or 5000 while also streaming audio).

    If the above doesn't load, see if www.speed-battle.com/speedtest_e.php will load in your car browser window.

    On a midrange workstation I get this from Chrome on my first try...

    upload_2018-3-13_11-17-31.png

    and this from Edge from my workstation on my first try...

    upload_2018-3-13_11-22-17.png

    here is what I got on my old MCU today...

    upload_2018-3-13_16-32-21.png
     
    • Helpful x 4
    • Informative x 1
  12. SummitX

    SummitX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2017
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Colorado
    Yes. Brand new, 6 miles.
     
    • Informative x 2
    • Like x 1
  13. viper2ko

    viper2ko Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    USA
    I haven't heard anything about this. But man if true I missed it by 4 months.
     
    • Love x 1
  14. viper2ko

    viper2ko Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Messages:
    441
    Location:
    USA
    Is this even possible?
     
  15. Derek Kessler

    Derek Kessler Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,145
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    Can't say for sure, but I can't see how it wouldn't be. It's a modular component (the whole MCU computer) that presumably uses the same display, I/O, and power connectors as the old Tegra unit.
     
    • Helpful x 3
  16. number12

    number12 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,531
    Location:
    Tesla
    A retrofittable Tesla? El oh el

    Jk.. hope that’s true.
     
  17. Derek Kessler

    Derek Kessler Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,145
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    I know that some owners have had dash display upgrades, installed newer seat designs, etc.
     
    • Like x 2
  18. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,273
    Location:
    TN
    if you want to check if you have a new mcu or not, one good idea is to look at the software version and publish what you see. I imagine intel-based builds would differ from non-Intel, so if it's a 18.6.1 with a different hash, or 18.10 with a different hash... you will know.

    This is about the least intrusive method I imagine.


    ap2.0+ MCUs are not retrofittable into AP1 and non-AP cars for example, so physical dimensions are not everything here.
     
    • Informative x 5
    • Helpful x 1
    • Like x 1
  19. DÆrik

    DÆrik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2016
    Messages:
    585
    Location:
    Colorado
    Do you have the VIN of this car?

    Thanks Erik
     
  20. C_Beau

    C_Beau Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2018
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC