TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Model X TPMS

Discussion in 'Model X: Driving Dynamics' started by kktmatt, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. kktmatt

    kktmatt New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Los Gatos, Ca
    , i. Does the TPMS on the Model X report the pressure for each tire, ie. Front Right,Rear Left?
     
  2. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    Yes, it's in an app on your instrument panel.
     
  3. Commuter

    Commuter Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Westlake Village, CA
    Is there a trick to getting the app to start working? I just get dotted lines for each tire where there should be pressure readings. Doesn't seem like it's working and hasn't since I picked up the car last week. Maybe I'm just missing something.
     
  4. loganintx

    loganintx Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    592
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    From page 142 in the manual. Not the exact issue you are having but could be related:
    "The Tire Pressure indicator light does not immediately turn off when you adjust tire pressure. After inflating the tire to the recommended pressure, you must drive over 25 mph (40 km/h) for more than 10 minutes to activate the Tire Pressure Monitoring System (TPMS), which turns off the Tire Pressure indicator light."
     
  5. Rich Meister

    Rich Meister Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    SoCal
    Are the TPMS the same as the Model S?
     
  6. lloyds

    lloyds Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Bay Area
    According to my SA, they are different and come with different pricing as well. Was told that the S tpms costs $30 each while the Xs cost $50 each. You also cant reset the tpms on the X from the UI. You would need to bring it into sc to get new tpms logged to the car. On the S, you can just reset the sensors on the screen.
     
    • Informative x 1
  7. Dazureus

    Dazureus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Michigan
    How are people supposed to switch wheels for the winter time? It needs to be taken in to the SC to put on the winter wheels? My closest SC is in another state...
     
  8. lloyds

    lloyds Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    890
    Location:
    Bay Area
    Thats correct...kinda annoying. SC will charge $90 everytime that needs to be done. I dont see why they couldnt have done it like the Model S
     
  9. Dazureus

    Dazureus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Michigan
    I guess that's why the SC suggested I just get winter tires mounted on my stock wheels for the winter time. I can't imagine it would be cheaper to do that every season, but it would save a 360 mile round trip. I hope Tesla releases a TPMS sensor reset option in a software update before the winter time.
     
  10. idoco

    idoco Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    Outside Philly
    Any news on whether Tesla is adding TPMS reset to MX? Seems weird to have it on MS (adding it in update after people complained) and not to have it on MX.
     
  11. systemcrashed

    systemcrashed Please Reboot

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Messages:
    798
    Location:
    USA
    Does a dash reset accomplish this? The TPMS in my MX is constantly updating, values are changing as temp of tires increase.
     
  12. idoco

    idoco Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    Outside Philly
    So I reached out to my local SC. Can't say enough good things about Tesla service! Here's the response:

    "The tire pressure system on the Model X will actually go through an automatic learning procedure so you do not need to activate a reset through the touchscreen...The Model X will not know the difference between Tesla and aftermarket sensors...I will caution you to the fact we have not seen many customers have luck in the aftermarket sensor department."
     
    • Informative x 1
  13. Dazureus

    Dazureus Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Michigan
    Interesting information. So if I purchase a set of Tesla winter tires and swap them out myself and start driving around, the vehicle will automatically recognize the winter tire TPMS sensors? I guess that's why it takes some driving time to get a TPMS reading on the cluster. Must be some kind of initialization and handshaking that needs to happen when the TMPS sensor detects movement. This might also act as a safeguard against malicious TPMS sensor attack vectors if there's some kind of rolling code used between the TPMS sensor and vehicle every time the car is used.
     

Share This Page