Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Model Y 19'' ProContact RX factory tire in Tahoe: will it be OK?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi all, newbie here waiting for Model Y delivery next month with 19’’ Gemini Wheels. I live in San Jose, CA so even 2WD meets 95% of my needs, with only one exception: I go to Tahoe for snowboarding sometimes during the winter.

Thanks to this forum, I read several posts about people's review about their MY's performance in snow with factory tires, overall I am pretty concerned after reading those posts. But if I stay on the paved road (plowed but may still be covered with some snow in the evening or early morning) and drive carefully (slow speed, keep long follow distance), will the factory 19'' ProContact RX All Season tire be OK? Changing tire (to better all season tires like Cross Climate 2 or snow tires) and discarding/storing the existing ones is something I don't prefer considering 95% of the usage will be on warm and dry roads.

Another option is to put on snow chains if traction is too bad, but I had some bad experience putting on snow chains when it was raining + freezing outside several years ago.

Thanks in advance.

Reactions: dgaultiere
Don't do it! Snow/ice can be unpredictable in the Tahoe area. What happens is oftentimes you'll get warm days, but overnight it gets very cold. The oils in the road mix with the moisture and you get frozen black ice. If you're driving through a shaded area the black ice may not be melted. The result may be a scary patch of road that sends your vehicle across the road. If you're not lucky, you may hit something or worse.