TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

MS Dropping Wifi Connection in Garage

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by GregKo, Jan 24, 2017.

  1. GregKo

    GregKo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Hey folks,

    I can connect my MS and MX to my home wifi but I must ask them to connect. They will not automatically do it when I pull into the garage. I am able to surf the web etc while connected to wifi. I called Tesla HQ and they confirmed that the car was connected via wifi.

    However, after I close the door, go inside and then come back an hour later... they revert to their Lte cell connection. I open the settings and it shows the home network and connects upon my request again, but then drops it later just like before after I close the door.

    I am using a new Linksys router and a Netgear range extender to get full bar signal strength into the garage, so signal strength is not the issue. The Linksys shows only 1 bar of signal strength in the garage, so the Netgear extender is really needed.

    When the cars are connected to the weak Linksys signal (without the extender), both cars show up on the router's admin homepage as connected devises, however, when they are connected via the extender, they do not show up... I should mention that any devise, IE computer / iphone etc connected to the extender shows up as a connected devise in the routers admin page. Nevertheless, the cars are connected and I can surf on the cars browsers while connected...

    I set this up to get quicker firmware updates, but its proving to be very difficult. Unless someone here has a simple solution, I think I'll just turn the wifi off in both cars and let them update over the cell network...

    Really frustrated that a just about anything can connect to my router except these two cars! Thought?

    Thanks
    Greg
     
  2. Andyw2100

    Andyw2100 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6,564
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY
    Have you tried deleting the network in the car, and starting from scratch? I've read that doing that has worked for some people.
     
  3. GregKo

    GregKo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Yes, I did that several times. Someone at Tesla sent me this:

    "It is possible that your vehicles are having trouble maintaining a WIFI connection due to a firewall on your home network.

    One work around is to set up a static IP set to the vehicle’s MAC address and bypass the firewall. In order to do this you will need to contact your internet service provider and get some information.


    The info needed below can be found in the links below from Linksys and Netgear

    Linksys Official Support - Setting up a router with a Static IP account

    How to enter a static IP address on a NETGEAR Router | Answer | NETGEAR Support "

    Has anyone gone to this level of work to get connected?

    Thanks,
    Greg
     
  4. Jlwine

    Jlwine Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  5. Andyw2100

    Andyw2100 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6,564
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY
    Oddly, I had an issue with a wireless printer not consistently being found on my network. I wound up assigning it a reserved IP, and that solved the problem.

    I guess I'm saying give that a shot. You shouldn't need to contact your ISP to do it.
     
  6. GregKo

    GregKo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I have a MAC ID for each car, but the network assigns the IP address automatically. I can see what is assigned, but how would I change that?
     
  7. Andyw2100

    Andyw2100 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6,564
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY
    I'm sure others more familiar with networking could help more, or explain it better, but as I recall, there was a way to reserve an IP address within the router configuration software. Normally the router will just assign devices a local IP based on the IP of the router. So if the router is at 192.168.1.1, it will start assigning IPs as 192.168.1.2, 192.168.1.3, etc. The same devices would have different local IPs each time they connect, depending on which ones are available at the time. I'm not sure, but this may be called dynamic IPs, or something like that. I set my printer to a certain local IP in that range, and then reserved it, so nothing else would be assigned to it. That may be called static IP, but again, I'm not certain.

    Perhaps someone more knowledgeable in networking will correct my information, or fill in the gaps.
     
  8. brucet999

    brucet999 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    1,948
    Location:
    Huntington Beach, CA
    What Linksys router are you using? My Linksys EA7500 can link seamlessly with a Linksys RE7000 extender. With this combination, one can actually join the network off the signal of one device and then move (think watching Netflix on a laptop) to the area served by the other without interruption or having to re-connect as with other brand (or Linksys non-seamless) extenders. With my extender mounted on the front wall of a room above the garage connected via power-line ethernet to a port on the router, I get full internet speed (for me that's 30Mbps) in the garage and 20 feet down the driveway; 15Mbps across the street.

    With any extender in wireless mode, you lose half of the bandwidth of the signal it receives just because the device spends half its time "listening" and half time re-broadcasting the data.

    An easy way to test what wifi throughput you actually have in the garage is to download the free ookla speed test app on your cell phone.
     
  9. GregKo

    GregKo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ok folks. Solution was right under my nose :)

    If you car connects to your home wifi and you can surf the net on the car's screen, you are fine. Just because it bounces back to cell connection after you close and lock the car does not mean that it won't reconnect to your wifi when it wants to.

    Got a message on my phone when I awoke this morning saying an update was ready for the X. I went and looked inside the car. As I opened the door, I noticed that it was connected to wifi. Great news. Updated the firmware. All is good.
     

Share This Page