TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Musk confirms/Tesla Refutes upgradeability from MCU1 to MCU2

Discussion in 'Model S' started by emmz0r, Mar 12, 2019.

  1. emmz0r

    emmz0r Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Earth
    Elon Musk on Twitter

    [​IMG]

    Great news for MCU1 people with laggy maps and garbled fonts! On recurring problems they should do it for free or at a heavily reduced price.
     
    • Like x 4
    • Informative x 2
  2. laurent1

    laurent1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Montreal
    What are the benefits of MCU2 vs 1?
     
  3. Chaserr

    Chaserr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Messages:
    662
    Location:
    Chicago
    Tesla hasn't abandoned it yet/won't as quickly
     
  4. emmz0r

    emmz0r Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Earth
    1. Faster (no lags, no need to use the sketch pad trick)
    2. Better software support (at least not garbled fonts and stuff)
      Will not be left in the dust as @Chaserr says. Model 3 uses the same MCU computer.
    3. 5 GHz WiFi
    4. Added Bluetooth antennas
     
    • Informative x 2
  5. maximizese

    maximizese Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    California
    I haven't had any issues with the MCU on our 2013, but I'm pleased to see upgradable parts if and when I need a replacement...I'm not obsolete yet. :D
     
    • Like x 3
  6. jorobsand

    jorobsand Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2017
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    I wouldn't call this "news" or "confirmed". Elon has stated before that there will be an upgrade path but nothing official has ever been published other than his tweets.
     
    • Like x 9
  7. emmz0r

    emmz0r Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2018
    Messages:
    566
    Location:
    Earth
    Maybe because that runs on a lower resolution? I've heard that the MCU1 got a display upgrade before MCU2. :)

    He said it multiple times now :) Doesn't that count? :)
     
    • Funny x 3
    • Love x 1
  8. ucmndd

    ucmndd Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2,240
    Location:
    California
    Lol yeah, he said that once already, a year ago.

    Keep waiting...
     
    • Like x 3
  9. Snowstorm

    Snowstorm Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,223
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    I hope it is for real this time. My car is one year older now and an upgrade is worth less. Wonder what the cost will be. Frankly, I will settle for Mcu 1.5, same everything but more ram and faster cpu. No need to rewire.
     
  10. grantgro83

    grantgro83 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2018
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Covington KY
    I had mcu1 in my 2015 85d and now mcu2 in my new P100DL and I can confirm mcu2 is significantly faster in just about every function
     
    • Like x 3
  11. Snowstorm

    Snowstorm Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Messages:
    1,223
    Location:
    Ontario Canada
    The browser in v9 MCU 1 pretty much does not run until you use the sketch pad to prevent the map from rendering.
     
    • Informative x 3
    • Like x 3
  12. houstonian

    houstonian ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Houston. Duh.
    Glad he reconfirmed but still waiting to see timeframe until the upgrade path’s open to customers and the cost.

    Also what happens with the old MCU, that is of course my old MCU?
     
    • Funny x 2
  13. rsg123

    rsg123 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2018
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Sacramento
    Where did you get this info? I don’t see any mention of it in that Twitter thread.
     
  14. Doctt

    Doctt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Messages:
    228
    Location:
    Los angles
    Why would anyone beleive what Elon said? 8 times out of 10 he just lies.

    The only time you can trust him is when he said something is coming in next weeks, then you know it is real. But timing will always off. New weeks always turns into few months. But at least it is real.

    Anything else is just smoke.
     
    • Like x 6
    • Disagree x 4
    • Love x 1
  15. Droschke

    Droschke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Future
    What's the sketch pad trick?
     
  16. darxsys

    darxsys Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Messages:
    314
    Location:
    Seattle
    This is really nice to hear, I'll probably want to upgrade in a year or two! Now, if they would publish the price, that'd be nice, too.
     
  17. whitex

    whitex Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    4,283
    Location:
    Seattle area, WA
    I lost track of things Elon said are coming, even from 5 years ago. Just throw that one on the heap together with App SDK , battery capacity upgrades, unattended self driving, battery swap stations for travel, etc, etc. Tesla can't even keep up with servicing the current fleet, they are not going to add to that by performing MCU swaps.
     
    • x 9
    • x 3
    • x 1
    • x 1
    • x 1
  18. Naonak

    Naonak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Location:
    Kansas
    Just like the main battery pack is upgradable? Still waiting on that one...
     
  19. BPeter

    BPeter Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2019
    Messages:
    140
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Servicing is an issue but you'd have to assume they'd price the MCU swap such that it would be profitable, and maybe worth it to fit those in.
     
    • Like x 1
  20. buttershrimp

    buttershrimp Click my signature to Go Mad Max Mode

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    2,382
    Location:
    ATX
    Mcu 2 is pretty awesome... the rendering on the IC is better and more detailed.... I suspect they will do the upgrade option when they retrofit AP3.... let’s hope they have a large inventory so they can retrofit when they activate new chip... nothing worse than waiting to get into the club while all the young bucks walk right in... meanwhile I’m standing here with my Z Cavaricci’s ready to get inside and dance to hammertime
     
    • Funny x 4
    • Love x 1

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC