TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

MX Navigation (Traffic redirect)

Discussion in 'Model X' started by Algbc, May 23, 2017.

  1. Algbc

    Algbc Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    I got my MX on May 7th and I enjoyed the features, on the 4th day around 10:00 am just as I was getting in may car to go to work I saw this image ( see attached) popped up on my screen and I hit navigate to work, the navigation showed a very good way to work.
    this never came back even on a very busy time. about 3 days later a new update (8.1) was available to download, and the car is now on version 8.1. still no sign of that portion.
    any one know how I can get this back? or was it only on previous software version?
     

    Attached Files:

    • Informative x 1
  2. gjunky

    gjunky Waiting for the Model ☰

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    Scottsdale, AZ
    Sorry, I have never seen that before on our X. That would be a nice feature. I manually select work or home when driving back and forth to view traffic along my route but it never once suggested an alternative.
     
  3. Veritas1980

    Veritas1980 Electric Viking

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Malmö, Sweden
    It shows up from time to time in my S (also with newest firmware), but only on the route that the nav system would like to go. Which is not the one that I prefer, so I don't use it that much.

    I think you can get it to pop up more often if you set the navigation settings in Apps to a shorter time. I can't remember what the default is, but I just set mine to reroute if I can save more than 1 minute.
     
    • Informative x 1
  4. EVie'sDad

    EVie'sDad Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Messages:
    571
    Location:
    Newark, CA
    I usually set mine to only redirect if I save more than 15 minutes, that way I am not constantly prompted to redirect. However, if you have a long route you take often, this may come in handy with changing traffic conditions.
     
  5. vandacca

    vandacca ReActive Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,894
    Location:
    Hamilton
    I would expect that this "feature" only pops up when there is a faster route due to traffic congestion. Therefore, if you're already on the fastest route (+ 1-15 minutes setting) then it won't show up.
     
    • Like x 1
  6. Veritas1980

    Veritas1980 Electric Viking

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Location:
    Malmö, Sweden
    I have mine set to 1 minute and very rarely get redirected (1-2 times for the last 3 months), but I suspect that very much depend on where you are in the world, the traffic situation and how long your commute is.

    I guess the OP can try some different settings and see where the sweet spot is for his type of conditions.
     
  7. TJtv

    TJtv Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    NJ
    I had something similar pop up on my screen, even though I wasn't using navigation! I got in my car after work ended to drive home, and even though I hadn't yet started driving or turned on the navigation it told me that my normal route home was slow. I thought that was pretty cool. For reference, my drive home is normally traffic free, but on this day there was an accident on one of the highways.

    Now, the alternative route that it suggested was pretty awful. But I knew that. So I fired up waze on my phone and got a great route home that avoided the traffic congestion.
     
  8. Mrcook4590

    Mrcook4590 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Virginia
    I have never seen the OP's message pop up. I usually have Waze up on my phone as well. The X's navigation isn't that reliable for the fastest route here in the boonies! Once, my car wanted me to take an incredibly circuitous route which would double the time to get there. Fortunately, I knew the way but was trying to figure out how much battery I needed. I am wondering if maybe my car somehow knew that I wouldn't have signal for part of the time. It's a minor kink, but I do wish Waze was the main navigation tool! I will remain hopeful that there can be some kind of licensing deal with the Waze people...
     
  9. vandacca

    vandacca ReActive Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,894
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Waze is now owned by Google/Alphabet, so it would seem likely that integration into the X would come some day.

    However, I called Tesla support a month ago to report a navigation issue (navigation keeps trying to make me make an illegal turn) and they told me that they use garmin for their navigation, even though the maps are provided by Google. Not sure if they are mistaken, but if that's the case, then Waze integration may be less likely.
     
  10. Asterix777

    Asterix777 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Location:
    Austria
    I always use WAZE on longer trips. I made a roadtrip in France and Italy. One day I was 3 km away form the supercharger in Affi (Italy). The Tesla navi plotted a 36 km Trip to reach the SC. Later I tried it once again, same result.
     
  11. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    625
    Location:
    TN
    The maps by google are just on the CID for you to see.
    IC maps and actual routing is by navigon because Google prohibits to use their maps for navigation by third parties or some such.
    This is why navigtion in Tesla is pathetically bad and looks so behind at times.
     
    • Informative x 1
  12. travwill

    travwill Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,159
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Yep, hard for people to tell that the actual directions come from Navigon, which is owned by Garmin. They are available offline without an internet connection which is/was key at the time, but they are not optimal and even if a new road exist on your very up to date Google Map view on main screen, the IC instructions from Navigon won't know about it until the maps are updated. I've had maps updated 1 time in 3 years of ownership on our older S.

    Afraid we are stuck with this for now in current generation of S and X. Maybe the 3 will just use a singular system or different provider, then future redesigned S/X versions.
     
    • Informative x 1
  13. verygreen

    verygreen Curious member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Messages:
    625
    Location:
    TN
    Actually I don't see why current generation S/X cannot be changed.
    It's a 100% software solution, in fact they needed to play some ugly tricks to make it all work.
    Replacing it with something else should be very doable (I am not saying it's trivial, but if say model 3 has a different solution, migrating it to S/X should not be too bad).
     
  14. vandacca

    vandacca ReActive Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,894
    Location:
    Hamilton
    That would explain why the maps show a new road I frequently take, but the navigation gets confused when I'm on that road.
     

Share This Page