TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

My app will not connect to car that's in service?!

Discussion in 'Model S' started by number12, Nov 30, 2016.

Tags:
  1. number12

    number12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,363
    Location:
    Tesla
    does this mean my 7.1 car is currently being defiled with 8.0?

    If not, why would this be the case?

    Seems shady either way. I never gave them permission to update and even asked them not to.

    And no items needed firmware updates (I don't think so).. I sent an email asking to be contacted if update was needed.

    Any advice would be appreciated.
     
  2. gde_eu

    gde_eu Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Europa
    I think they now switch off remote access when in service...
     
    • Informative x 1
  3. Patrick W

    Patrick W Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    1,116
    Location:
    SLC, UT
    Correct. Keeps owners from doing silly things light flashing lights or honking the horn while the car is being serviced.
     
    • Like x 2
    • Informative x 1
  4. number12

    number12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1,363
    Location:
    Tesla
    Makes sense. Still bit fishy. I forgot to tape a note on the screen to not update, but whatever is done is done I guess
     
  5. Model S M.D.

    Model S M.D. Ludicrous Radiologist

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    852
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    They also unplug dashcams...
     
  6. FloridaGary

    FloridaGary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2015
    Messages:
    306
    Location:
    Orlando, FL.
    Correct. Standard operating procedure and safety for the technicians.
     
  7. green1

    green1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,550
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Which is why I have my car set up to automatically re-enable remote access every minute. It means that if someone like a thief (really Tesla, this doesn't require a PIN????), or service tech, turns it off, the car will automatically turn it back on so I can see what's happening.
     
  8. Kurt'sX

    Kurt'sX Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    San Diego
    I wasnt sure, but you guys seem to have confirmed it. My X has been in the shop for 3 weeks and all contact with the car has been shut off, including my Blackvue dash cam. They arent letting me check out any of their secrets! LOL
     
  9. CuriousG

    CuriousG Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    956
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    We can't all have the luxury of having root access. PIN? Nitpicking aren't we? Why not criticize Microsoft for not requiring password to turn off Remote Desktop services then?
     
  10. green1

    green1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,550
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    I might nitpick Microsoft, but I don't use their products. That said, you DO need a password to turn off Remote Desktop services, you can't do it without admin access, which you shouldn't be using on your normal account (just because most people do, doesn't mean it's a good idea)
     
  11. CuriousG

    CuriousG Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2015
    Messages:
    956
    Location:
    Elk Grove, CA
    I think of it this way, you are admin user when you have the keyfob. If that wasn't the case, you shouldn't be able to set the pin for valet mode either. So then once you are signed in as a local admin you don't need password confirmation to make the Remote Desktop change.
     
  12. gutowskia

    gutowskia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Orangeburg, NY
    I believe the access is turned off server side. I dropped off my winter wheels for service and lost app access to my car despite the fact that the car was with me all along.
     
  13. ShockOnT

    ShockOnT Quickish

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2016
    Messages:
    1,308
    Location:
    Sydney
    8.0 comes with just enough benefits you won't feel too bad about the extra AP nagging.
    Other than the nags it's pretty much all good, especially now the USB issues have been mostly resolved.
     
  14. green1

    green1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,550
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    What possible benefit could 8.0 give that would be worth giving up AP????????????
     
    • Like x 1

Share This Page