TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

My autopilot has never worked.

Discussion in 'Model 3' started by smak, Apr 11, 2018.

  1. smak

    smak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    NorthHollywood, CA
    So actually it worked once. At about 225 miles, for 10 minutes. And hasn't worked since, and I'm at 425 miles.

    It's currently day 2 at service.

    I'm posting to see if anybody else has had this issue, and if it was fixed, what the they said was the problem.

    I have a bad feeling that the SC is going to be awhile, like a few people I've seen on Facebook, and I'm trying to be proactive to maybe let the SC know what other people's fixes were.

    This also may go with Model S too, because doing a search I've seen a few people have the same issue.

    Most people said the front camera's or radar was replaced, but that was for Model S.

    Anybody have the same or similar issue, that has been fixed?
     
  2. rhaekar

    rhaekar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2017
    Messages:
    452
    Location:
    San Diego
    First I've heard of an autopilot problem on the 3, did you at least get a nice loaner?

    I'm taking mine in next Wednesday for an airbag sensor problem.
     
  3. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    7,467
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Many times it's a camera (module, meaning all of them up front) alignment issue. If it's not worked for that long, I bet that's what it is. Most of them self-calibrate in 30-50 miles, and then work perfectly. Most of AP's 'normal' function is from the camera(s). TACC uses the radar to slow you down, etc. But the autosteer (line recognition, and all that) is from the camera. If, for example, it would never 'come up' because it couldn't recognize the lines, then that's all from the cameras, alignment or vision, or something else in that 'chain'.

    And no reason it can't be the same on the 3 as on an S or X, it's the same hardware, more or less: AP2.5 is the same (except for the water cooling on the CPU module).

    Let us know what they find out!
     
    • Informative x 1
  4. smak

    smak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    NorthHollywood, CA
    Unfortunately not. The guy with the same issue on Facebook got a P100D ludicrous, and I got a Chrysler 300 rental.

    If it seems to be a longer issue, I'm going to ask them to hold the next Tesla loaner for me, so maybe I can possibly trade. It would take the blow a little easier.
     
  5. MXWing

    MXWing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6,991
    Location:
    USA
    Tesla does do this.. give you the next Tesla loaner that comes in.
     
  6. MP3Mike

    MP3Mike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    13,375
    Location:
    Oregon
    Assuming there aren't x people in front of you.
     
  7. Canuck

    Canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6,125
    Location:
    South Surrey, BC
    Is this true? I thought the 3 has a driver facing camera that is missing from AP2.5 on the S/X (even if not activated)? Or do the S/X also come with driver facing cameras now?
     
  8. smak

    smak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    NorthHollywood, CA
    It's funny how I can spy on them via the widget to see if they are test driving it.

    They did at least once today, so it seems they are trying things out.

    Problem is, if the car needs to do the normal calibration time again, how would they know if it works?
     
  9. Canuck

    Canuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Messages:
    6,125
    Location:
    South Surrey, BC
    Every time my Tesla goes in for service they disable remote access and unplug the dashcam -- every time -- like clockwork here.
     
    • Informative x 2
  10. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    7,467
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    That camera is not active so you can call it different or not. :D As far as anything that we are using, it’s identical as to functionality. It’s rumored that’s for the Tesla Network down the road but I wouldn’t hold your breath.
     
    • Informative x 1
  11. Todd Burch

    Todd Burch Voltage makes me tingle.

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,418
    Location:
    Smithfield, VA
    That's the correct Tesla-sanctioned procedure. Seems some forget.
     
  12. boaterva

    boaterva Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    7,467
    Location:
    Northern Virginia, USA
    Yep, I’d unplug my dashcam myself to show I know what’s what and to avoid people pulling on the cables that don’t know what they are doing. Last thing you want is to have to do is rerun those cables! :eek:
     
  13. Andre Mercier

    Andre Mercier Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    I've been keeping a list of times that my autopilot isn't available. In the 10 days I've had the car, 8 of the days it hasn't been useable for at least one of my drives. Some days it's not available on any of my drives (3-5x drives a day), somedays it works for one way of my commute but not the other. Only two days has it worked for all my drives. Is this normal?
     
  14. napoleonblownapa

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    135
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, Colorado
    I had the EXACT same problem! Owned it for a week and only had the use of autopilot a couple of times, never for very long. Off to the SC for 4 days, gave me a MS loaner. Oh, about the loaner: It was GREAT! It was an 85 single motor but had Autopilot 1 and EXECUTIVE SEATING! I had never even SEEN one with those seats! Two great, comfortable rear seats with a huge center console between them! Very cool! Anyway, when I picked my M3 up, all was well with autopilot! They told me the problem was caused by the front center camera module. One of the three cameras was sort of intermittent. This is basically what Boaterva posted, (above). If you get this problem, just make an apt with the SC. They can fix it! Mac
     
    • Informative x 1
  15. smak

    smak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    NorthHollywood, CA
    Do you know what they did to fix? Replace that camera?
     
  16. smak

    smak Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Messages:
    811
    Location:
    NorthHollywood, CA
    I realized after 2 days with the Model S, that my problem wasn't just no autopilot, It's that the blue lane on the left of the screen, that shows your car, the speed limit, and other cars, is not there.. My car is there, but the lane is not there, and no cars show. The speed limit has flashed a few times, but in the 400 miles was really never there.

    I always thought that it only shows when autopilot is ready, but my S loaner doesn't have AP and the lane is there, along with cars in front of me and the speed limit.

    I'm curious if the others with issues also had this issue, or the lane showed correctly, just AP never came on?

    I feel something really is wrong if that lane is not there.
     
  17. Country Roads

    Country Roads Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2017
    Messages:
    79
    Location:
    WV
    My AP never worked on my new Model S. Kept calling and emailing and being assured that it would kick in after calibration. Finally after 1500 miles got it into the shop... front facing camera was bad and they had to replace the whole windshield to fix the issue. After that, I was amazed at all of the new details in the binnacle - lane lines, other cars, speed limit, autopilot ready steering wheel, etc.
     
    • Informative x 1
  18. brkaus

    brkaus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,020
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    It does depend on the road. Quality of the stripes, etc. if normally operating.
     
  19. gmtom1

    gmtom1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    For those that had AP calibration issues, did you have any cars, lines or anything showing up in the display or was it completely blank the whole time it was "calibrating"? I'm at 80 miles now and still no EAP, but I do see accurate images of the other vehicles around me on the display.
     
  20. JTwo

    JTwo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    78
    Location:
    Bothell, WA
    I have a friend who received her M3 two weeks ago. I drove it yesterday. I tried autopark that never kicked in, then tried to engage AP on the freeway and nothing..... I advised her to contact the SC to see what gives?
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC