TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

My new added 10" sub

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by JayBoy, Nov 24, 2013.

  1. JayBoy

    JayBoy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    I just got my standard sound system upgraded with a JL Audio XD300/1 amp and TW3 10" sub. I designed the (complicated) box, but the constuction of it and all the installation was done by Sound Station & Security in Raleigh. These guys did a great job. Looks factory (except I wanted to see the sub). Total cost $1100
     

    Attached Files:

  2. SCW-Greg

    SCW-Greg Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Nice mod.

    And how does it sound? Differences you notice before and after?
     
  3. phat78boy

    phat78boy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Very nice. I've been thinking about doing this same thing, but putting in dual 10" on both sides. My only concern was I don't want to see any amps or wiring. Where did you hide the amp?
     
  4. yobigd20

    yobigd20 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,793
    Location:
    Skaneateles, NY
    Can you explain a little more about the amp location, sound wiring, and power wiring to the 12V system?
     
  5. spatterso911

    spatterso911 MSP#7577 **--** MX#1891

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,213
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga, CA
    Just had a 10" enclosed sub installed in mine last week. It's on display at the LA Auto Show for those of you who are in the area. Should be in Kentia Hall.
     
  6. JohnnyMac

    JohnnyMac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    +1 to yobigd's post. More details please. Looks great.
     
  7. JayBoy

    JayBoy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Messages:
    38
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    The 8 ga power wire feeds directly from the 12v battery thru the driver side firewall and down that side to the trunk. The audio is sourced from the left rear speaker. There is a level knob (more or less sub bass) that I had installed on the drivers seat just ahead of the seat controls (it looks stock). The amp is encased in vented plexiglas and located in the far left trunk (where the mobile charger sits) and is unseen. In retrospect, I could have located the amp under the sub on the other side, but I was worried about ventilation.

    I'm an audio engineer and to my ears, it sounds much better than the stock system, but not as smooth as the Studio system. I should have ordered the Studio package! Next time....
     
  8. phat78boy

    phat78boy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Thank you for the description. I have the studio package, so I'm wondering if the line output currently there for the sub can be tapped. Ventilation is my concern with the amps as well, might not be feasible to go dual subs with these AZ temperatures. Well, not if I want the amps hidden anyway.
     

Share This Page