TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

My Roadster has Alzheimers

Discussion in 'Roadster: Technical' started by smorgasbord, Nov 23, 2013.

  1. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,379
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Roadster is supposed to remember what amperage settings you use in different locations.

    Now, for reasons I can't figure out, when I set a current limit at home, when I get to work it has that same limit. And if I reset it at work, it has that setting when I get home. The only thing I can think of is that at work we have underground parking, so maybe the GPS doesn't remember the last setting? BTW, work is 25 miles from home.

    I've always had issues with how/when Roadster remembers/doesn't remember current limits. I think that if the charge door is open, it won't remember that setting. But, maybe it's more complicated than that.


    Anyone have a clue what might be going on? I've got a v2.5.
     
  2. Doug_G

    Doug_G Lead Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    15,848
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    There is more than one GPS in the car... maybe the one used for that function is not operating properly?
     
  3. wiztecy

    wiztecy Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,713
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, California, United States
    One GPS sensor (only one I know of) is under the left headlight. Do you get your proper altitude readings? That's GPS specific.
     
  4. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,379
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    The GPS is fine. OVMS uses it and it shows where my car is.
     
  5. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,655
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Forget the car's dodgy implementation and just use OVMS ACC.
     
  6. Rik

    Rik Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Northern VA
    I was just about to post the same issue today and was searching first. I park at work underground but the car seems to simply remember the last settings... not the settings based on location. Quite annoying as I have a 30 amp j1772 at work that seems to throw an issue if I do not remember to set it at 24... and at home I do not want a limit. UGH.

    Someone mentioned to just use OVMS... does OVMS solve this issue, i.e. save location-based preferences?
     
  7. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,655
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The latest OVMS includes something we call Advanced Charge Control. This allows you to setup (currently 4) special "ACC" locations based on GPS geofencing where OVMS will control the charge (not the car). For each location, you can specify whether you want to cooldown the battery on plugin, charge mode (standard, range, etc), charge limits (amperage), duration limits (for example; either charge up to 80% SOC, or up to 150 miles range), as well as three different types of charge timer (charge on plugin, charge at time, complete charge by time). You can even have it trigger homelink as you approach an ACC location. It is currently setup via SMS messages.
     
  8. Rik

    Rik Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Ya, I've been reading up on OVMS and hadn't committed the new acronyms yet. thanks for pointing me towards OVMS and the ACC options. Curious if you have figured out if there is the ability to engage multiple types of charge timers, in particular to set the 'charge at time' say to 1AM and the 'complete charge by time' to 5AM. I ask because I have a smart meter on my house now and lowest energy cost is 1am to 5am so I'd like to take advantage of that window without continued charging.
     
  9. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,655
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The car only has a simple timer. The charge-by-time function is done by OVMS itself, using Tom Saxton's charge time predictor. Works pretty well, especially considering it is something a Tesla couldn't (wouldn't?) do for the roadster.
     
  10. Botbldr45

    Botbldr45 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Location:
    Sedona, Az
    Make sure your OVMS or Tattler, whatever you have, is not overriding the car programming. You can set the car to charge at a specific amperage and, in my case, the Tattler will override to the last setting programmed into the Tattler. I have to turn off "charge mode" on the Tattler for the numbers I plug into the car to work.

    Rik- Tesla Tattler lets you program a charge cycle exactly like you are describing. Check out "teslasolutions.com"
     
  11. smorgasbord

    smorgasbord Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    2,379
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    I would if my V1 box supported it. I guess I need to buy myself an XMas present of V2.
     
  12. vfx

    vfx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    14,792
    Location:
    CA CA
    Site for sale?
     
  13. Rik

    Rik Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Northern VA
  14. Botbldr45

    Botbldr45 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Location:
    Sedona, Az
    Yes exactly!
    Tattler Solutions LLC

    Version 2 adds more capabilities for charging but is still in beta
    Modem a bit twitchy but they have addressed that in version 2 also
     
  15. Rik

    Rik Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Northern VA
    tattler seems pricey compared to OVMS module... worth it?
     
  16. jory

    jory Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    san francisco
    i love my OVMS and it comes with real apps on iOS and android.
     

Share This Page