Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

My take on the new 100kWh pack

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
So I'm really in to figuring out Tesla's battery architecture and I love reading stuff about it. Now we know that the new 100kWh pack is a completely new architecture, including cell count and cooling system. There will definitely be people with more knowledge on batteries and will be able to make better guesses here on this forum, all in all whatever I learnt I read it online and I'm no engineer, not an authority by any means.

But here goes nothing.

Here's what we know;
  • Cell chemistry is the same.
  • Pack is 74 cells in parallel. That is a group. 6 groups connected in series is a module and 16 modules make the pack. 7104 cells in total.
  • We know that original 85 pack had 3.1Ah cells and their nominal voltage is 3.7V. 4.2V fully charged, 3.2V cutoff.
  • 90 pack is a 6% increase thanks to silicon on the cathode. That puts it in ~3.3Ah. So 3,3Ah * 3,7V * 7104 = 86740Wh --> 90 pack. With a 97% allowed DoD we end up with 84kWh usable energy. I think that would be in line with people's experience thus far with 90 packs.
So, with these assumptions 96,37% of 90kWh is called a 90 pack. Same went with the 85 back in the day. So for the 100 pack, actual capacity should be 96,37kWh. With a 315mi EPA estimation that's 297Wh/mi. Makes sense right?

So same chemistry cells, 3.3 * 3.7 = 12,21Wh. 96370/12,21 = 7892 cells for the new pack. 788 new cells, that's an addition of 78lbs just cell weight assuming ~45 grams per cell.