TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Navigation stops showing route (blue line) until reboot...

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by patn, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. patn

    patn Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Midwest
    Anyone else experiencing this? Everything seems fine with the navigation system but under some circumstances it stops drawing routes on the map - i.e. the blue line is absent while navigating. This is not transient - it stays this way for all routes until I do a reboot of the 17" console. Then it works again for a while. I never noticed this happening before a couple of months ago. Just curious if anyone else is seeing it.
     
  2. Trnsl8r

    Trnsl8r S85 since 12/8/12, X90 since 12/20/16

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,719
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Yep, seen it. Last reboot has been effective for a couple of weeks though.
     
  3. JohnQ

    JohnQ Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    Redding, CT
    Seems to be common. I experience it as well.
     
  4. Forty Creek

    Forty Creek Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    443
    Location:
    Carlisle, Ontario
    Yes I have experienced this. Rebooting cleared it up for me as well.
     
  5. Argelius

    Argelius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Messages:
    244
    Location:
    Palm Springs, CA
    Yep. Ditto. But definitely new behavior. Never used to have the problem...
     
  6. Jrhodesmd

    Jrhodesmd S Sig #371, X Prod #1143

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Same here. Running 5.9, but this didn't start up with a version change. Just crept in there. Reboot fixed it about 2 weeks ago. Waiting for it to re-occur, not yet though.
     
  7. ecarfan

    ecarfan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    14,760
    Location:
    San Mateo, CA
    Yes I experienced this under V5.9. Display reboot fixes it. Been on V5.12 for the last 1,000 miles and have not experienced that issue.
     
  8. Madartist

    Madartist Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Florida
    Unfortunately, it has happened in my v5.12 nav as well.
     
  9. Larry Chanin

    Larry Chanin President, Florida Tesla Enthusiasts

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    4,495
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida
    Hi Steve,

    Same here. Had it happen about three times. Happened yesterday on version 5.12.

    Larry
     
  10. NigelM

    NigelM Recovering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13,351
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Make sure the service center knows so they can log the issue, alternatively send a short email to [email protected] and it'll get forwarded to the SW team.
     
  11. SarahsDad

    SarahsDad Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2013
    Messages:
    255
    Location:
    NC
    Happened to me yesterday for the first time (at least first time I noticed). Rebooted the touchscreen while driving and had a little scare when the speedometer cluster spontaneously rebooted also - seemed like both screens were blank for 2-3 minutes (car still drove fine) before coming back on line. Everything works fine now tho.
     
  12. dasRad

    dasRad Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    I've experienced this problem a few times and resolved it by a reboot or by entering a destination into the search box and choosing one of the suggested destinations from the auto populated drop-down box. The reboot has worked reliably. The second method has worked, but I can't say if it always works as I've only done it once ( somewhat inadvertently and I wasn't really paying attention).
     
  13. dsmith2189

    dsmith2189 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,374
    happened to me on the way to lunch. entered the restaurant address (in the text area) , no blue line. after lunch I entered the address I was going to (by saing Navigate to...) and magically a blue line appeared. I did not have to reboot.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC