TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

"Navigation System is Initializing"

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by jacobp, May 31, 2014.

  1. jacobp

    jacobp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    Potomac, Maryland, United States
    Hello. I'm running 5.9. Lately, my navigation system has not been working reliably. After selecting a destination, the screen shows the message "navigation system is initializing" with the spinning wheel. The system never resolves itself and i eventually have to hit cancel. Every once in a while, the system will work properly, but that is clearly the exception. I've tried rebooting, but no improvement. Has anyone encountered this? Any suggestions?
     
  2. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,743
    Location:
    Texas
    The first thing I would do is reboot both displays just to insure they are in sync. (It's the two top buttons for the small display--I know you know this). If that doesn't resolve the issue it's time to contact ownership as it's likely the 3G system (chip, antenna, etc.)
     
  3. jacobp

    jacobp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    Potomac, Maryland, United States
    Thanks. Yes, I've rebooted both displays and the problem persists.
     
  4. Vger

    Vger Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Location:
    Salt Spring Island, BC, Canada
    There are at least three different flavours of 5.9 out there (.92, .94, .96). Which do you have? Others reported problems with nav on at least the first release of 5.9.

    Ownership or your service centre may be able to resolve this with a firmware update.
     
  5. jacobp

    jacobp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    Potomac, Maryland, United States
    I have .96
     
  6. jacobp

    jacobp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Messages:
    252
    Location:
    Potomac, Maryland, United States
    Well, Saturday the nav system was not working (giving me the "initializing" error) and on Sunday it was working perfectly. I'm having my SC check to see if any code was sent by "ownership" after i emailed them to tell them of the problems i was having on Saturday.
     
  7. kendallpb

    kendallpb Model S: P 8061

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,185
    Location:
    MD, USA
    When you have this problem, do internet-related things also stop working? I've had this happen several times (which is odd, since the Navigon turn-by-turn doesn't require internet; one just doesn't get the Google maps) and had to reboot, sometimes more than once, to get it working--sometimes I have to reboot both big and little screens. Most internet stuff seems to stop working at the same time, like voice control and Slacker.

    Probably unrelated, but do you have the tech package? (I do.)

    This occasional problem has happened for me only since getting 5.9. I have .96 as well.
     
  8. FairFrank

    FairFrank Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    Amsterdam - NL - EU
    #8 FairFrank, Jul 3, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2014
    Driving with tOS 5.11 I am frequently facing the same problem of the "navigation system is initializing". At the same time other controls also demonstrate a "freeze", like the volume control wheel at the left of the steering wheel. Looks like a CPU overload.
    Next Monday the car will be at Tesla for the twinloader hardare fix and I will ask them to take care of it. Keep you posted.

    UPDATE
    - As expected the SC advises to reboot. Kind of Bill Gates experience.
    - Harware fix works fine.
     
  9. JohnnyMac

    JohnnyMac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Same issue with Nav initializing. I have been on 1.59.44 for a mont +. Lately, every task via the touch screen and scroll wheels seem to hesitate and delay...much like the CPU is overloaded as stated above. No recent updates so not sure what brought this on!
     
  10. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,743
    Location:
    Texas
    Try rebooting the display. That increased the speed for me of 5.9 when the nav system started to get slow.
     
  11. JohnnyMac

    JohnnyMac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Thanks jerry33. Already rebooted once but will do so again and see if it helps. I believe the first reboot did help with latency but it has returned again today. Will reboot again.
     

Share This Page