TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Navigation System Needs Service

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by trils0n, Mar 19, 2016.

  1. trils0n

    trils0n 2013 P85

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,360
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Just got a new error message today:

    Navigation System Needs Service
    Maps Are Not Loaded

    20160319_135443_nav_small.jpg

    Anyone seen this before? I don't recall reading anything about it, and a quick search showed nothing.

    Have my 3 year service scheduled for April, so will wait until then to see what Tesla says, unless it fixes itself between now and then.
     
  2. Frank the Tank

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Happened to me a couple weeks ago. I rebooted both screens and it's been working fine since...
     
  3. trils0n

    trils0n 2013 P85

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,360
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    Was going to try a reboot, but forgot after arriving home. Went out to the car for another trip and the message was gone. /shrug. Still going to ask Tesla about it at my service appointment.
     
  4. Evee

    Evee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    188
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Yeah just reset. Or even just ignore it. Next time it boots up it should go away. I've seen this 3 times before. Once immediately following an update.
     
  5. JvdS

    JvdS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Den Haag, Nederland
    I had the same, went to SC and theu told me it is because the internal memory is overloaded.
    They said that a reset has to be done every 4 weeks or any way on a regular basis to clean the RAM
     
  6. scottm

    scottm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,534
    Location:
    Canada
    Probably wouldn't hurt to empty all your previous Nav searches, if you have hundreds, thousands, of them.
     
  7. garygid

    garygid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    617
    Location:
    Laguna Hills, Orange County, CA
    So, it sounds like a software bug, possibly in the Nav or Route Display routines, where the memory usage is not cleaned up properly ... a memory leak. But, nothing to fix in the hardware.

    For me, a first symptom is that the traffic speed colors are not shown. I had to do a reboot of the touchscreen yesterday as I was driving, just to see the Route, which sometimes draws at one zoom setting, but not at another zoom level.

    Presumably this problem will get fixed in some future release, but it might just get somewhat better, stay the same, or even get worse before it gets fixed.
     
  8. pdq

    pdq Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    In 6 months, and 9,000 miles of driving a P90D I haven't seen this message, but if I did I wouldn't care as the Nav system is so stupid that I don't use it. The few times I've tried it, it has tried to take me on truly whacky routes, which is why I have my old Garmin in the car. Plus the Garmin has many, many capabilities than the Tesla lacks.
     
    • Like x 1
  9. Andyw2100

    Andyw2100 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    6,564
    Location:
    Ithaca, NY
    You misunderstood. That wasn't an error message. Your car was simply begging for a revamped Navigation System! All the navigation systems need service. Your car is simply leading the charge!
     
    • Funny x 1
  10. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    5,094
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    I see this message now and then and I ignore it and reboot the system. It goes away only and everything works fine until the next time. Cleary a bug that Tesla has not yet addressed,
     
  11. robert774

    robert774 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Katy, Texas
    Like any good software, it will be fixed and two new bugs will be introduced... :)
     
  12. anxman

    anxman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    363
    Location:
    san francisco, ca
    I got this message today for the first time.
     
  13. lv2wap

    lv2wap New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I just got this message for the first time and would like to offer an observation. This weekend I discovered Tesla Web Apps and used them a lot today with a long navigated trip. I think the combination caused a shortage of memory/resources and this message was the result. After a while of not using the Web Apps (which included real time weather and news updates) the message went away. I use the GPS often and have the tech package. I think this is a default message.
     
  14. GaryREM

    GaryREM Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    Messages:
    344
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Interesting observation, maybe a coincidence, but good to note.

    I got the message when I started the car this morning. Did a reboot and disappeared. Don't recall having done anything different the day before, but could be long term memory leak which leads to resource shortage as you suggested.
     
  15. DrComputer

    DrComputer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Just got the message today. Tried to reboot several times (both screens) and it still appears. E-mailed my service advisor and they "pulled logs" and said I needed to bring it to the service center to be fixed. I asked what needed to be fixed and she didn't know. They scheduled an appointment for next week. Let's see if it magically goes away on its own before my appointment.
     
  16. DrComputer

    DrComputer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Car at the service center now and they are trying to figure out the problem. They suspect it is a failed SD card behind the main screen. I'll post when I get the car back as to what they fixed or replaced.
     

Share This Page