TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

NEMA 14-50 to extension cord to NEMA 10-30 charging?

Discussion in 'Model 3: Battery & Charging' started by dc121gw, Dec 15, 2019.

1. dc121gw

dc121gw Member

I am taking a road trip over the holidays and my host has a standard 5-15 120V outlet and a 3-prong 10-30 dryer outlet.

I have the 14-50 Tesla charging adapter. Rather than buy the 10-30 charging adapter from Tesla, I got a 14-50 to 10-30 adapter. So I would use the 14-50 on the Telsa mobile charging, and then use the 10-30 adapter on the 14-50 plug. The adapter I bought is listed as being compatible with EV charging, but who knows if these Amazon sellers are accurate.

My first question is, would cause any problems? The 10-30 is 3 prong. I'm not an electrician, but I believe that 4 prongs are better, being wired to both neutral and earth ground. I plan to alter the car charging settings to lower the current draw to 20 amps, in order to avoid tripping my host's circuit breaker.

My second question is, if I used a 14-50 30' extension cord, would this cause problems? The extension cord is sold for RVs and is absurdly thick. I don't expect this cord to cause any electrical problems, but you never know.

2. neurocutie

neurocutie Member

sounds fine as a temp solution. the chargers don't use the neutral connection.

• Like x 3
    • Helpful x 2
  3. ambudriver03

ambudriver03 Member

You could technically charge at upto 24a on the nema 10-30 (80% of 30a).

Unless there are other appliance on the circuit it should not trip at 24 or less.

Obviously you can set it down to whatever you feel comfortable.

And like the previous comment said. Tesla doesn't care about the neutral line. Since the charger runs hot to hot in a 240v connection.