TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

New 85 D problems charging

Discussion in 'Model S: Battery & Charging' started by MichFin, Jun 22, 2015.

  1. MichFin

    MichFin Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    I've had my 85D for a couple weeks now and on at least 3-4 days the car did not charge overnight. Also, sometimes when I plugin I sometimes get errors. lastly I've set the amps to 40 in the car controls but when I get back in the car I see it at 30 amps.

    I have a dedicated 100 amp electric meter with it's own fuse box for 2 chargers one for my Volt and one for the Tesla. Is there anywhere I can get additional error message detail from the car or HPWC?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,023
    Sounds like there's something flaky. If you are getting errors ("check charge cable") and/or you walk out to find the ring around your charge port is red, then you'll have to investigate a problem of interrupted service, especially if combined with the 25% reduction in charge current (the Tesla backs off when it detects a considerable voltage anomaly - that can be due to the electric service or a misbehaving appliance in the home).

    It's too hard to tell with just your description - it could be the charger in the car, the HPWC cord and/or unit, or an electrical supply problem inside the house. Contact Tesla service; they can pull logs to tell you what happened and when.
     
  3. MichFin

    MichFin Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    I have the service guy coming out to service the mirror I will have him take a look at it.
     
  4. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,023
    You might call them in advance so they can get the logs pulled to know where to look.
     
  5. MichFin

    MichFin Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Thanks... I'll do that.
     
  6. Cyclone

    Cyclone Cyclonic Member ((.oO))

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,945
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    95% of the time when I have problems charging (and that in and of itself is rare), I have the orange blinking lights and the screen tells me I didn't push the charging cable in all the way ("not fully inserted"). The 4.9% of the time is user error on properly activating the public charger before connecting it to the car. The last 0.1% of the time it has been an actual error of the device. For me, that 0.1% was a single occurrence at a 1a Supercharger, but 2a worked fine.

    Hopefully you get everything worked out easily!
     
  7. patrick40363

    patrick40363 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    Cali
    if you have a level 2 charger for the volt try charging the Tesla with it. .
     
  8. Cyclone

    Cyclone Cyclonic Member ((.oO))

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,945
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    This got me thinking of a side-note as well. The Model S remembers the charging settings for a charger based on GPS location. Thus, if you charged using a HPWC at 80a and then plugged into a 30a J1772 for the Volt afterwards, the car would have automatically switched to 30a and remembered 30a the next time you plug in the HPWC.
     
  9. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,023
    Not the case.

    It's only the case if you manually changed the setting. If I plug the HPWC into my car (80A), then plug my UMC into the car (40A), then the HPWC again, it will go back to 80A. It's only when you set a custom value below the maximum that it will remember it.
     
  10. MichFin

    MichFin Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    It charged fine last night and I watched it on my phone showing 40 amps. I guess I must be inserting in wrong but I never thought I was that stupid :crying:
     
  11. Cyclone

    Cyclone Cyclonic Member ((.oO))

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,945
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Aha! The SC must have manually lowered me to 40a the last time my car was in for service then. I was on the way to work and got worried when the charging screen had 40a listed rather than 80a (grayed out since I wasn't parked though). Thank you!
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC