TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

New 85 D problems charging

Discussion in 'Model S: Battery & Charging' started by MichFin, Jun 22, 2015.

  1. MichFin

    MichFin Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    I've had my 85D for a couple weeks now and on at least 3-4 days the car did not charge overnight. Also, sometimes when I plugin I sometimes get errors. lastly I've set the amps to 40 in the car controls but when I get back in the car I see it at 30 amps.

    I have a dedicated 100 amp electric meter with it's own fuse box for 2 chargers one for my Volt and one for the Tesla. Is there anywhere I can get additional error message detail from the car or HPWC?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    Sounds like there's something flaky. If you are getting errors ("check charge cable") and/or you walk out to find the ring around your charge port is red, then you'll have to investigate a problem of interrupted service, especially if combined with the 25% reduction in charge current (the Tesla backs off when it detects a considerable voltage anomaly - that can be due to the electric service or a misbehaving appliance in the home).

    It's too hard to tell with just your description - it could be the charger in the car, the HPWC cord and/or unit, or an electrical supply problem inside the house. Contact Tesla service; they can pull logs to tell you what happened and when.
     
  3. MichFin

    MichFin Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    I have the service guy coming out to service the mirror I will have him take a look at it.
     
  4. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    You might call them in advance so they can get the logs pulled to know where to look.
     
  5. MichFin

    MichFin Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    Thanks... I'll do that.
     
  6. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,397
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    95% of the time when I have problems charging (and that in and of itself is rare), I have the orange blinking lights and the screen tells me I didn't push the charging cable in all the way ("not fully inserted"). The 4.9% of the time is user error on properly activating the public charger before connecting it to the car. The last 0.1% of the time it has been an actual error of the device. For me, that 0.1% was a single occurrence at a 1a Supercharger, but 2a worked fine.

    Hopefully you get everything worked out easily!
     
  7. patrick40363

    patrick40363 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    208
    Location:
    Cali
    if you have a level 2 charger for the volt try charging the Tesla with it. .
     
  8. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,397
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    This got me thinking of a side-note as well. The Model S remembers the charging settings for a charger based on GPS location. Thus, if you charged using a HPWC at 80a and then plugged into a 30a J1772 for the Volt afterwards, the car would have automatically switched to 30a and remembered 30a the next time you plug in the HPWC.
     
  9. FlasherZ

    FlasherZ Sig Model S + Sig Model X + Model 3 Resv

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    7,019
    Not the case.

    It's only the case if you manually changed the setting. If I plug the HPWC into my car (80A), then plug my UMC into the car (40A), then the HPWC again, it will go back to 80A. It's only when you set a custom value below the maximum that it will remember it.
     
  10. MichFin

    MichFin Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Detroit, MI
    It charged fine last night and I watched it on my phone showing 40 amps. I guess I must be inserting in wrong but I never thought I was that stupid :crying:
     
  11. Cyclone

    Cyclone Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,397
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Aha! The SC must have manually lowered me to 40a the last time my car was in for service then. I was on the way to work and got worried when the charging screen had 40a listed rather than 80a (grayed out since I wasn't parked though). Thank you!
     

Share This Page