TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

New frunk and trunk light LED panels shut down after about 10 seconds

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by artsci, Mar 9, 2015.

  1. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,673
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    Over the weekend I installed LED light panels in the frunk and trunk. They replaced traditional LED strips. There are two panels in each location. Each panel draws nearly 1 amp when lit, so that's 2 amps for each location. Evidently the load was too high for whatever controls these lights (both are wired into the OEm frunk and trunk lamps). They are not fused. Are these CAN bus controlled? Puzzling.
     
  2. scottm

    scottm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,262
    Location:
    Canada
    24 Watts for an interior general lighting lamp load sounds high. Maybe it should shut down.

    What was the draw of the previous 'traditional LED strips' in each location, total, that did not cause a shutdown?
     
  3. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,673
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    I have since discovered that those lights are regulated by the body controller which is responsible for shutting them off when the load gets too high, like a circuit breaker. It then resets itself after a time lapse.

    The previous strips were under half an amp max.
     
  4. CanuckS#69

    CanuckS#69 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Sutton West, ON
    24w of LED lighting sounds like enough to illuminate a large room. That'd be 6 chandelier bulbs. I have around ten feet of strip lighting on a bookshelf that doesn't use 24w. Four of these is nearly 100w, which would be a very bright incandescent bulb, in LED, it should be blinding!
     
  5. harry

    harry Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Location:
    Prince Edward Island & Wisconsin
    Couldn't we use a 12V relay with a low draw primary tied to the existing light wire and then power the secondary of the relay from a tap on an always-on 12V power wire?
     
  6. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,673
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    Probably was overkill, and the car knew it:) Replacing them this weekend with more conventional, low power LED strips.
     
  7. Gizmotoy

    Gizmotoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3,132
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Seriously. I light a pretty large bedroom with three 9W LEDs (Each 60W Incandescent-equivalent). Artsci here has roughly the same amount of lighting for the frunk! :biggrin: Cracked me up.

    I do think it's interesting the BCM can monitor the current used by the lighting channels, though.
     
  8. AmpedRealtor

    AmpedRealtor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4,686
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    Don't pimp your ride! lol
     

Share This Page