TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

New production (late 2014) new TPMS sensors

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by lolachampcar, Dec 2, 2014.

  1. lolachampcar

    lolachampcar Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,446
    Location:
    WPB Florida
    I have confirmed with the local Service Center that there has been a change in the TPMS sensors. Please post any additional information here. I've asked several sources for clarification and will post their responses here as well.
     
  2. Denarius

    Denarius Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,349
    Location:
    Utah
    I'm about to order another set of wheels from Tirerack... Are the TPMS sensors they are bundling compatible?
     
  3. lolachampcar

    lolachampcar Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,446
    Location:
    WPB Florida
    I have an email into Doc at the Tire Rack on that very same issue. I'll post his response (or simply ask him to post here).
     
  4. Madartist

    Madartist Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    384
    Location:
    Florida
    It would be nice if the TPMS sensors could display individual tire pressure readings. It would save me from checking the tire pressures manually on a weekly basis.
     
  5. Firewired

    Firewired Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Be so awesome if it shows actual pressure and has the ability to check via the phone application!
     
  6. lolachampcar

    lolachampcar Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    4,446
    Location:
    WPB Florida
    I suspect there has been no change in frequency (TPMS sensors work in IMS or Industrial, Medical, Scientific frequency ranges of 315 or 433 MHz with 315 MHz normally being used in the US - like the fobs). I suspect a change in data packet which opens the door for temperature and pressure per tire. My fingers are crossed.
     
  7. DieAbetic

    DieAbetic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I picked up my car 1 month ago. Got a small nail in the first two days with very slow leak. Sensors alerted me (but not to specific tire) when the pressure was at 30-35. Did not alert me when tire was at 37 - figured that out by checking myself.

    Don't know if that helps, but thought I'd put it out there anyways.
     
  8. randompersonx

    randompersonx Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    493
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    I assume your car has the new AutoPilot sensors?

    In any event -- there are plenty of cars now that have AutoPilot hardware but no software to address it -- so it's possible that the ability to read individual tires is there, but the software does not yet display it.
     
  9. DieAbetic

    DieAbetic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    159
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Yes I have the new hardware
     
  10. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,043
    Just heard from my DS. He confirmed the new , incompatible with the old, TPMS sensors. This change occurred with the auto pilot sensors. He is working on pricing for the sensors. My local SC does not have them in stock yet.
     
  11. gpetti

    gpetti Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,573
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Thanks everyone for looking into this. I wonder what happens if I put my current winter wheels on with the old TPMS
     
  12. Firewired

    Firewired Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    367
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Andrew, did they give you any idea about any new functionality?
     
  13. breser

    breser AutoPilot Nostradamus

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,310
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    Glad I didn't buy a winter wheel setup for the old car and presume I could just put them on the new car with no issues.
     
  14. gpetti

    gpetti Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,573
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Funny.
    If by "old car" you mean my 8 month old car which visually has the identical summer wheels and has the tpms that has been in place for 2 years or so with no changes. Perhaps when Tesla was phoning us up to ask us if we wanted winter wheels with our order they could have pointed out that the winter wheels I already have (I told them I had wheels left over from my trade in) might not be compatible. Obviously he was just a cold caller but nonetheless that would have been good to add to his script and maybe he could have changed my mind or at least sold me some sensors.
    I' m not trying to cheat or cheap out. I bought the winters because I had concerns about the pirellis. Tesla would not take them with the trade in obviously so it seemed logical and safe to keep them. Come to think of it, I did ask someone at Tesla if there was anything different with the AWD and they said no. I guess technically that is true as it was introduced prior to AWD but I'm guessing the Preston I asked didn't know that TPMS had changed.
     
  15. NJ Plugin

    NJ Plugin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    494
    There is a thread here at TMC discussing Fobo, a new TPMS that screws onto the valve stems. I just installed them this weekend. From your phone, it shows individual tire pressure and temperature.
     
  16. breser

    breser AutoPilot Nostradamus

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,310
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    I wasn't targeting that at you (actually didn't see your post until after I'd made mine). I seriously was considering buying another set of wheels for my September 2014 vehicle. I decided to wait since it didn't make sense to tie the money up in wheels/tmps/tires for a few months.
     
  17. Conger

    Conger Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    United States
    I'm in the same boat. Although I am happy with the new functionality. I specifically asked about using my "old" snow tires and wheels from my P+ on the car both before I bought the car and after purchase during the phone call asking about winter tires. Not a big deal if the sensors are available separately, or it the car will work in the short term with the old sensors. For me it is mandatory to put on the snows as soon as the car arrives. It seems a little late to be finding there may be an issue now, especially after Tesla felt the need to make the snow tire specific phone calls after my order had been confirmed.
     
  18. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,043
    He said the current cars with the new sensors do not have new functionality. He also did not know if the new sensors would make it possible to report the PSI with a future software update. So.. No is the answer to your your question.

    I wish tesla could have given us a heads up. It would have saved me a few hundred dollars in extra TPMS sensors. Hey Tesla, if you're listening, throw me a bone and give me an extra set of sensors on the house. I'll even give you my old ones that you can recycle...
     
  19. ckessel

    ckessel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,266
    I'm unclear. Does this mean my 2012 Tesla can only use old sensors forever? I don't care if I can't get new data precise temperature/pressure, I just don't want to be stuck scrounging junkyards in 6 years because I need an "ancient" sensor that's no longer produced.
     
  20. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,043
    My assumption is your car will continue to use the v1 sensors and will not work with v2. Likewise, the cars with autopilot use v2 sensors and will not work with v1. They are mutually exclusive.
     

Share This Page