TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

New Rooftop Solar, Help Me Understand Monitoring

Discussion in 'Energy, Environment, and Policy' started by Rockster, Mar 8, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Rockster

    Rockster Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,996
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    I have a new 10k system with a SolarEdge inverter and SolarEdge optimizers. SolarEdge just sent me login credentials for their dashboard, which I also used for logging in using the SolarEdge monitoring app on my phone. I can now see data about my system's power generation; however, I thought I would be able to see the output of each panel, in real time and I'm not seeing where to view that.

    Do I need a different level of user account to see each panel's output as opposed to the aggregate system output?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Park2670

    Park2670 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Utah
    I can click on the Layout tab and see data for each individual panel. Both in the iOS app and online.
     
    • Like x 1
  3. Rockster

    Rockster Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,996
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    Hmmm. Thanks for your response. I don't have a Layout tab. I wonder if they set me up with a Nerfed account?
     
  4. Rockster

    Rockster Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,996
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    I just ping'd the solar company and they said they're still working on setting up the layout in the system. That explains the absence of the Layout tab. Thanks again!
     
    • Like x 1
  5. Park2670

    Park2670 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    494
    Location:
    Utah
    Enjoy your new system!
     
  6. SageBrush

    SageBrush 2018: Drain the Sewer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    6,506
    Location:
    Colorado
    I have the same setup, works great.
    The spot power generation by panel is a bit buried in the UI.
    Are you using a phone or the website ?
     
  7. wikidpete

    wikidpete New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Bay Area
    I just got my solar installed by Tesla with Solar Edge inverters and Optimizers. @Rockster How did you get an account from SolarEdge? Tesla support try to tell me if I setup my inverter with wifi and use Solar Edge app I will void my annual guaranteed kw. Anyone also experience this? Sounds pretty dumb that we have all this tech and functionality but we cant access it...
     
  8. SageBrush

    SageBrush 2018: Drain the Sewer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    6,506
    Location:
    Colorado
    Nah.

    kWh, NOT kw.
     
    • Like x 1
  9. Rockster

    Rockster Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    1,996
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    My local solar company set up everything with Solar Edge. I own my system outright, so maybe that’s a factor. Oh, and I didn’t bother with WiFi since my inverter has cellular and that’s working fine.
     
  10. wikidpete

    wikidpete New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Bay Area
    @Rockster thanks for the info. I do own mine as well. According to SolarEdge site only solar installers can setup the accounts.

    @SageBrush thanks :)
     
  11. SageBrush

    SageBrush 2018: Drain the Sewer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    6,506
    Location:
    Colorado
    I'm not so sure about that. I set up my account with SolarEdge without a problem.

    I cannot remember the steps anymore but search for the SolarEdge tutorial
     
  12. Ampster

    Ampster Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2012
    Messages:
    965
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    Me too. One was a system that I installed myself and the other was a system that an installer installed for me. Both used Solar Edge inverters. Initially I did have to write and email to SolarEdge to get an account so I could connect the inverters.
     
  13. Ulmo

    Ulmo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2016
    Messages:
    3,525
    Location:
    Vienna Woods, Aptos, California
    My solar installer set most of that up properly, and some settings were wrong, so SolarEdge support fixed the rest. I recommend that you call your Solar installer and have them properly set up the layout like we expect to see in our SolarEdge monitoring app. It should have the proper degrees orientation from North and degrees orientation from FLAT or UP (I forget what the standard is), and the proper location of each panel. This is part of a SolarEdge install. If SolarEdge does not allow you to set it up yourself and the solar provider does not include setting up the SolarEdge configuration in their contract price to you, then ask both to give you the installer credentials so that YOU can properly set it up, and I've heard in the past that that will work out eventually. I never had to get the credentials, but I think someday I will have to.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC