Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Newbie says hi and home charging question

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi all,

I'm a newbie here from San Jose, CA. I made my M3 reservation on 4/1/16. According to Tesla's official delivery estimate, my delivery date is sometime in Q1 next year(for the long range option). So I have some home charging related questions. Apologies if those have been asked before. If there's a similar post or blog somewhere on this forum, please share the link and ignore this one.

I own a town house with a connected two car garage. I share the walls one each side with my neighbors. I have in the unit dryer which I believe it's 240v. But the outlets in the garage are 120v.

1. Do I have to modify the 120v to 240v to charge the model 3?
2. If so what's the cost of getting 240v in my garage?
3. Can model 3 be charged with 120v?

I'm leaning towards the long range option, premium upgrades, 19" wheel, red color and maybe enhanced self driving, but not FSD.

Thanks.

Shaun

120v charging is pretty darn slow. It's okay if you don't drive all that far each day. It's definitely worthwhile to get a 240v to the garage for an EV, but you might can live with 120v for awhile if needed and if you don't have too long of a daily commute. On 120v, you will restore maybe 3 or 4 miles per hour of charging. Say you tend to be plugged in for 10 hours each night. That would be somewhere from 30 to 40 miles of range restored each night. Not much. With a 240v outlet, you'll be able to charge more like 20 to 25 miles of range restored per hour, meaning you can pretty much fully charge from empty to full overnight. Now those are Model S numbers. Since the 3 is more efficient, it might do slightly better in each case.