Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Nikola Motors Semi Trucks

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Nikola Motor Company. I am not kidding: Nikola Motor Company | Premium Electric Vehicles

I am a long-haul truck driver with a model 3 reservation so this was of great interest to me. They even mention Tesla a few times in describing their battery (3 times bigger than a P85D) among other things. The parallels with Tesla are amazing, even to the point of building a nationwide network of fuel stations (natural gas).

The truck uses a natural gas fuel system to power turbines which recharge the battery (you NEVER have to plug in).

I just don't know if I can get past the name!

Last edited by a moderator:
Hmmm.... this company is a joke right?

It says under features for the truck:

"Never plug in - turbines charge the battery while driving"

Wait I just read some more. It's a CNG fueled truck.

FUELING & CHARGING
Q: How often do I need to re fuel?
A: The Nikola One has a turbine on board that charges the batteries. This turbine can run on any fuel type and will need to be refueled about every 1,200 miles depending on terrain and load size.

Q: How often do I need to charge the batteries?
A: You don't. The truck has a turbine on board that automatically charges the batteries for you. You never need to plug in. The Nikola One also has a charging port to help keep the batteries topped off while you are resting at a Nikola fueling station.

Q: How often does the turbine turn on during normal driving?
A: There are many factors that determine when the turbine turns on to charge; terrain, load to motors, battery longevity, battery level and more. We anticipate the turbine will run for about an hour for every 3-5 hours you drive on pure electric.

Wonder what battery size would be needed to get 1000 miles of range as a pure EV.