Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

No wait - buy it now - P85's?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I suspect this "secret inventory" will be like the spots you could buy on the Signature waiting list in September 2012 when it was supposedly sold out. You won't find the inventory listed for sale on any Tesla website. The author of the piece didn't specify how people can skip the line either. I suspect an off the record conversation with Corporate Sales will get the doors magically opened.

It would be nice if Tesla took a queue from Apple and not only announced a new program/product but announced when it will go live in stores. If I was a journalist on the service announcement conference call from last week, my question would have been, "When do you plan to have all the Service Centers stocked with Loaner Model S and Roadsters?"

This isn't "secret inventory". These are the orphaned cars, plain and simple, as detailed by the writer. The former reservation holders forfeited their deposits, and Tesla now gets to sell their cars. This was discussed in other threads, it was simple - call to the service centers and stores and ask if they have any orphaned cars for sale. Tesla even posted on the TM forums that there were a few on the floor in Menlo Park for sale.

And, for the record, the waiting list for Signature wasn't any sort of a secret society or "who you know" type thing either. The Tesla web page said that Signature was sold out, but you could email ownership@ to be put on the waiting list. You were then promoted based on those who dropped out -- or, in the case of brianman's favorite topic -- some slots were reallocated to the US from Canadians who didn't sign up.

I reserved my S, e-mailed ownership@, and a couple of weeks later when they sent out "time to configure" e-mails, I got a call asking if I wanted a Signature slot.

- - - Updated - - -