TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Not able to connect Tesla's Wifi to home network?

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by duBois, Sep 26, 2013.

  1. duBois

    duBois Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    Hi,

    I'm experiencing problems when connecting my MS Wifi to our home network. BGN network, SSID visible, european, WPA/WPA2 personal password. AES+TKIP.

    Even with all security off (open network) the MS will not connect to it.

    Any clues or tips?
     
  2. Crispix

    Crispix Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    San Diego
    Can the car connect to other wifi networks? Make sure the car wifi at least works.

    If so, I'd suggest messing with the band settings, turn off B and just try G, for example. You might be able to try different channels on the wifi access point. Maybe the car is too far from the access point?
     
  3. roundy

    roundy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    United States
    I have the same issue. Unable to connect to my 802.11N home network. I've tried forcing 802.11g and turning security off, but nothing works. The car will see all the local networks (except for 5.0ghz N networks) and recognize that some require a password. But after I enter the password, the connection will fail and I get the message to "Check the password."
     
  4. duBois

    duBois Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    No, the access point is near. My laptop is able to access our wireless network (from within the MS).
     
  5. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,047
    Try changing your password to exactly 8 characters long and don't use any non alpha numeric characters. I've seen a similar problem before and that was the solution.

    The fact that it doesn't connect without encryption shoots a hole in this theory, but it's worth a try.
     
  6. steve841

    steve841 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,398
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Others who reported issues fixed it by rebooting the MCU .... (17" display)
     
  7. NielsChr

    NielsChr Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    264
    Location:
    Denmark
    just a guess - your wifi router typical uses a fixed channel for your wifi, try change this channel to a different - offen this helps in situations like yours.
    some equipent does not like specific channels - so changing to another could help compability.
     
  8. duBois

    duBois Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    Update; all of the above won't get the connection working. Will try above tips with a single B or G band. Keep them tips coming... :)
     
  9. nolngrgrsngslde

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    If you have a smart phone that allows wifi tethering, you may want to see if it connects with it. Also, how is the bluetooth, does it work?
     
  10. duBois

    duBois Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    93
    Location:
    Eindhoven
    Bluetooth works flawless, also the MS does connect to a wifi tethered iphone. just not to my WiFi home network... It does connect to other Wifi networks belonging to my company's .
     
  11. ACDriveMotor

    ACDriveMotor Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    815
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Seems like you might want a new WiFi AP.
     
  12. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,047
    Is your home AP running the latest firmware? What brand/model?

    A
     
  13. Akikiki

    Akikiki A'-Lo-HA ! y'all

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,607
    Location:
    Kaneohe
    You also can search Google for NetStumbler. Its a wifi security (reveal) tool. Version .9 ran only on Win XP. don't know about more recent version.
    It will tell you about wifi routers running in your neighborhood. Once you see what channel and what SSID they are running on, you can move your AP to a different channel.
    This way your change your AP to use completely different.
    The explanation of your problem sounds a lot like you are competing head on with others running on the same channel.
    Highly unlikely but, someone might be copying your SSID. If they are, they are messing with you. Even though you have a different password, your system is being stepped on.
     
  14. EU#536

    EU#536 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    I have the exact same problem. Have you found a solution? I would be happy to know. I have tried all of the above, nothing works. The signal in my garage is good.
     
  15. Andy Black

    Andy Black Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Columbus, Ohio, United States
    Hi,

    I've had the same issue. What I had to do to get things working was allow 802.11b on my access point (Apple Airport). I have a feeling the NIC in the car is only 802.11b. It's made by a company called Parrot but that's all I've been able to figure out. If I figure out the model, I'll post it.

    -- Andy
     
  16. irishstoutaz

    irishstoutaz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    302
    Location:
    Cave Creek, AZ
    I have not been able to get it connected to our home network but did connect successfully at a hotel we stayed at this past weekend.
     
  17. RandyS

    RandyS Fan of Elon

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    San Diego
    Here's the issue I had...

    On my wireless access point during the setup process, I typed in a "passphrase" and in turn the access point generated a hexadecimal "key" from that passphrase.

    Once set up, for every laptop or device I have connected to my wireless network in the past, I have used the hexadecimal "key" as the password on the laptop when connecting to the wireless network.

    In the case of the Tesla, it would not connect in this fashion, but as soon as I typed in the entire original "passphrase" then it connected right away...
     
  18. mitch672

    mitch672 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Stoughton, MA
    Just received and installed 5.8 (had 4.5)
    I have multiple Wifi routers in range, and I can't get the Model S to join.
    Tried rebooting the center screen, didn't make a difference.
    Is there any trick to getting the car to connect?

    Mitch
     
  19. dirkhh

    dirkhh Middle-aged Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2013
    Messages:
    3,645
    Location:
    Portland, OR, USA
    Not really. Can your car see the access points? What does it do when you try to connect? We need a little more data to help.
     
  20. mitch672

    mitch672 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,868
    Location:
    Stoughton, MA
    Yes, it sees both access points. States it can't join "network name"
    Please check the password. I have multiple iPhones and iPads joined with the same password..

    image.jpg
    image.jpg
    image.jpg
     

Share This Page