TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Not yet Halloween, but strange things are afoot with my MS85 (FW v5.11)

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by GoBlue88, Aug 20, 2014.

  1. GoBlue88

    GoBlue88 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    638
    Location:
    San Diego area
    This morning I did my usual unplugging of the car and getting in to head to work. 17" touchscreen was blank. Smaller screen behind the wheel was slow to start up, and when it did, it showed nothing on the left side (I have that set to music), the odometer indicated 0 miles, and there was a warning that the parking sensors had been disabled - contact your Tesla service center. Also the car had not charged (I have the timer on to start at midnight for the lowest electric rates).

    Rebooted the touchscreen which started up and eventually cleared the parking sensor warning and the odometer showed the correct mileage. Left side of the smaller screen showed what was playing but would not display the album art. Rebooted that screen and the album art display worked. Car functioned normally for my commute.

    Has this ever happened to anyone? Obviously something happened prior to midnight because my charge apparently never started.
     
  2. ckessel

    ckessel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    4,266
    I had a couple incidents with the 17" touch screen not wanting to start for a bit right before my 12v went bad. Correlation or causation, I have no idea, but basically anytime someone starts talking about demons in their various 12v powered accessories (which is basically everything, including the screens), checking the 12v battery is my go to answer.
     
  3. GoBlue88

    GoBlue88 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    638
    Location:
    San Diego area
    Thanks, I will check that out.

    Only thing that really bugs me is that the car failed to charge. I guess if the center screen barfs, the charging start timer gets lost?
     
  4. efusco

    efusco Moderator - Model S & X forums

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,589
    Location:
    Nixa, Missouri, United States
    Yea, happened once or twice, haven't been able to reproduce it.
     
  5. wamochi

    wamochi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    224
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    same thing happened when i got 5.12, but multiple times at random locations. reboots worked for a while, then it basically wouldn't "shut down" one day even though everything was blanked out and i left the car. so the ranger had to come out and shut it down and install the latest 5.12 version to fix the original 5.12 bugs. since then, i've been mostly problem free, but i did have to reboot once because slacker got hung up and wouldn't do anything or let me switch to another channel.
     
  6. mknox

    mknox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,552
    Location:
    Toronto, ON
    Short answer: Yep, I've had stuff like that happen, but re-booting one or both screens has always cleared it up for me. I'm used to it now, but having to re-boot a car really threw me when it was new. My former Cadillac has a fairly sophisticated (by non-Tesla standards) Windows-based infotainment system and I never once had to re-boot it manually.
     
  7. tezco

    tezco Sig P85

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2012
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    Colorado
    Same experience here. Sleep mode still seems to need a tiny bit of tweeking.
     
  8. NigelM

    NigelM Recovering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13,257
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    FW version?
     
  9. GoBlue88

    GoBlue88 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    638
    Location:
    San Diego area
    5.11

    No issues this morning. Charged up, ready to go.
     
  10. NigelM

    NigelM Recovering Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    13,257
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Thanks. I updated the thread title as it sounds like (yet) another bug in that FW version.
     

Share This Page