TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

OBD II Power Output/Constraints

Discussion in 'Model S: Interior & Exterior' started by 4SUPER9, Feb 12, 2016.

  1. 4SUPER9

    4SUPER9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,321
    Location:
    California
    #1 4SUPER9, Feb 12, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2016
    I have my new MS on order and preparing for all the mods I will be performing, likely on the first free day I have available. Two (of the many) additions I will make will be a dashcam (Blackvue) and a radar detector (Escort 9500 or similar).

    My preference for the dashcam will be to obtain power from the mic grill in the headliner. That is, if my vin has the connection piece that so many others have found (it was not in my prior vin 15xxx).

    I was thinking of getting power for the radar detector from the OBD II connector, instead of routing from a tap-a-fuse. Tapping from the fuse is easy enough, but I will have to match a notch in the fuse cover in order to get the wire out, and being a leased vehicle, I would like to cause as minimal damage to the vehicle as possible.

    My questions are as follows: will the OBD II connector have sufficient power for my radar detector? If so, and I cannot find the power access behind the grill, might it have sufficient power for BOTH the radar and dashcam?

    Thanks!
     
  2. bryanle1

    bryanle1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Location:
    Murrieta
    +1, I would like to know this too. I'm also prepping for delivery of my CPO, and planning to do both the blackvue, and the escort max360 radar.

    Thanks!
     
  3. zerokewl

    zerokewl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I was just thinking as to why a tesla would even have a OBD II port? Isnt that only for monitoring ICE car information?
     
  4. tinpandave

    tinpandave Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Location:
    OCALA FL
    I bought a hd dash cam on line for $65 mounted it to the right of the mirror routed the wire under the headliner to the pass pillar down to the floor under the passenger seat and to the 12v power plug as for the radar dec. just don't go that fast, it just tells you when you are going to get a ticket and it wont keep you alive. (sorry I know keep your though to your self.) you could put a splitter there and plug both in with no wiring to mess with.
     
  5. artsci

    artsci Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4,673
    Location:
    Timonium, Maryland
    It's required by law and the laws have not yet been modified for EVs.

    The OPD2 12v output is more than hefty enough to power these kinds of devices. I used to to power the front/rear camera switch. And it's always on which is a good thing for a dash cam.
     
  6. 4SUPER9

    4SUPER9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,321
    Location:
    California
    I knew artsci would have the answer!
     
  7. CHG-ON

    CHG-ON Still in love after all these miles

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    2,754
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Mountains, USA
    I used a fuse tap for my Valentine One, which I sealed and mounted behind the nose cone due to the metallic windscreen. I had no problem gently closing the cover over the standard-issue fused cable. I just went slow. Been fine for 16 months. Might be worth a try. Also, are you buying new? I expect you will have the vacant connector in the mic area. I did with my VIN, below.
     
  8. 4SUPER9

    4SUPER9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,321
    Location:
    California
    Yes, I am buying new. I heard that there was a gap where the connector was not present. I find that so odd. They had it for about a year, then it disappeared for a year, then it came back. It must have a purpose. Some people have speculated that it was for lighted visors.

    With my last radar, Escort 8500 Plus, I used a tap-a-fuse. I absolutely could not get the cover to close over the wire. When my new car arrives, I can try again. Using the OBD II though would be so easy.
     
  9. Tree95

    Tree95 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Location:
    Usa
    From the fuses section of the user manual, Fuse #47 in Fuse Box #2 is 5A and supplies the ODB-II connector and the glove box light. 5A is plenty for a radar detector and dashcam.
     
  10. bradhs

    bradhs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2013
    Messages:
    280
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Does the ODB 2 have a switched 12 V lead? I'm installing a Thinkware and need 12V continues and 12V switched.
     

Share This Page