TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC
Start a Discussionhttps://teslamotorsclub.com/tmc/tags/

OBDII port problem

Discussion in 'Hong Kong' started by sith, Apr 26, 2017.

Tags:
  1. sith

    sith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    When I tried to plug in the OBDII port of my S90D, I found that the port is too close to a side of the trim opening such that it won't allow a regular OBDII plug to plug into the port. Need Tesla to fix it.

    Anyone has this problem too?
     
  2. Rytis

    Rytis Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Kaunas, Lithuania
    Considering that this port does not provide any data and only exists for compliance reasons, I would not worry about the plug not fitting.
     
  3. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,975
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    What are you trying to plug in? That port is primarily for emissions control, and of no use on a Tesla car. You can get power there, but that is about it.

    If you _really_ want to use the port, but can't fit your plug, then simplest may be to get an OBDII extension cable.

    P.S. Not sure what a 'regular' OBDII plug is. I've seen left hand right angle, right hand right angle, straight variants, and a large number of different body sizes. The plug connection is standardised, but the cable and housing arrangement is not.
     
  4. jerjozwik

    jerjozwik Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    944
    Location:
    san gabriel valley
    that plug does nothing, what you want is the canbus port under the center screen.
    20170418_081440.jpg
     
  5. FequalsMA

    FequalsMA Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Are you trying to run a HUD?
     
  6. sith

    sith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Yes, I am trying to use the Navdy HUD.
     
  7. FequalsMA

    FequalsMA Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    i think our HK community would appreciate a write up and pics if/ when you get this working.
     
  8. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight Fluxing

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    8,145
    Location:
    Connecticut
    I've used several different OBDII plugs to power accessories, and had no problems using the Tesla OBDII port. It is close to the wall, but most plugs should fit, unless it's mounted in a case with an angle.. in which case, as suggested, just get a short extension.
     
  9. markwj

    markwj Moderator, Asia Pacific

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3,975
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    You'll get power from that port but nothing else. None of the standard OBDII stuff is there.
     
    • Like x 1
  10. R0b_

    R0b_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    My Valentine One radar detector runs off the OBDII in my wife's car and my current X5, I plan to use the same adapter in my MS when I get it in two weeks.
     
  11. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight Fluxing

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    8,145
    Location:
    Connecticut
  12. sith

    sith Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2017
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  13. HankLloydRight

    HankLloydRight Fluxing

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Messages:
    8,145
    Location:
    Connecticut
    It might be a defect in your car, ask the service center to adjust it. I haven't had any problems using the port in two different cars.
     
  14. R0b_

    R0b_ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Auburn, AL
    Just as a FYI, that plan didn't work at all. The radar detector refused to power up, had to drive cross country without it. My OBD doesn't seem to be working for power purposes at all.
     
  15. T.E.S.L.A

    T.E.S.L.A Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2017
    Messages:
    59
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    You could always tap power from your windscreen rearview mirror power point. It is inside the plastic panel on the windscreen, right behind the mirror.
     

Share This Page