Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

OK, two buckets wizards, please show me the way...

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm a total noob at the concept of two bucket technique. Never been an expert at detailing. But don't want others handling my car during the pandemic and feel pangs of guilt using automated car wash.

Anyone who has a simple technique for getting their cars looking all shiny and new (that doesn't take a silly amount of time), please share your materials list and method. FWIW, my car has full xpel wrap on paint.

Thanks in advance!

With a wrap? Should look shiny and new all the time automatically .. just wash with Dawn and a soft sponge, be careful around the edges of the wrap, dry with a microfiber .. done!

Edit: With a wrap you can effortlessly wash and dry your car in about 20 minutes, don't waste money/risk damage in a drive through. It's good exercise.

Reactions: r1200gs4ok
I used to use 2 bucket, then found a more effective/more efficient way that works for me:
1)Foam gun (not cannon hooked to air compressor, but thats fine too..just not sure THAT many suds are ever required)
2)Meguiars Gold car wash/shampoo in the foam gun.
3)I thoroughly spray the car
4)I thoroughly soak my mitt with the soap
5)One panel at a time, I spray the panel while I lightly/gently wipe that panel in back and forth (not circular) motion.
6)When done, I rinse the car thoroughly with medium force spray.
7)I dry with powerful leaf blower.
8)remainingg crevices I dab with a waffle weave towel

The above results in no micro swirls/scratches. There is so much suds/soap/slickness and gentle wiping, it just doesnt happen. Also, since I keep a good coat of Turtle Wax ICE on the car (I spray it on couple times a month since it so easy to apply/remove) the car never gets SUPER dirty where it requires more than a light wiping when washing.