Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Ordered a P85D, now thinking about losing my deposit and getting a CPO instead.

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I'm a small business owner and ordered a P85D with the lease program. We've been in business over 10 years and are growing substantially, so money isn't really an issue. The problem that I've been facing is that I've felt incredibly guilty since I ordered my car. I live in a small city and have a well known business, with a staff of 60. All of them are paid a living wage (for the area) with industry-leading benefits, however I'm feeling very self conscious about driving a $120k car to work.

Anyway, now that Tesla launched their CPO site (a week after I ordered my car), I am seeing some pretty attractive deals on P85s. I kind of like the thought of buying used for substantially less money and then being able to tell people I bought it used. I'd take the $500/mo savings and put it towards some sort of employment reward (employee of the month bonus or something).

Any thoughts from existing MS owners? Would you keep the P85D and not worry about what other people think or try to get the lesser version?

Without going into the merits of deciding on the P85D, another new model, an inventory model, or a CPO; I was just wondering how far along in the process you are. My understanding is that if you haven't entered production/parts sourcing yet, you can transfer your deposit. In that case, you wouldn't be loosing your $2,500 at all (though perhaps the $500 "change" fee?).