Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Orlando Airport (MCO) FastPark (off airport) parking/charging experience

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
We just got back from a trip out west and parked our Model X at "FastPark and Relax", just north of the airport. I picked that lot because they said they had plenty of charging and is relatively cheap at $9.50 per day after tax. The other alternative is MCO's parking garage, which is almost double at $17 per day I think. I have no experience with MCO's parking garage.

I called a day before to make sure they had charging, they told me they had 8 J1772 spots, right in front, and additionally had 13 spots off to the side with 110V/20A outlets. As I was mainly concerned with keeping my Tesla "plugged in and happy", that sounded pretty safe to me, and I even let me battery run down to 50%.

When I got there, all J1772 spots were taken. I didn't look too closely, but they all seemed to be EV's charging, maybe half of them were Teslas. There might have been one that was ICEd. All the L1 plugs to the side though, were ICEd. Those spots were all painted green, with a sign designating them as EV charging spots. There was one lone spot at the very end that was empty, but only because it was partially blocked by a barrel, so people didn't bother trying to squeeze in there. I backed in successfully, and plugged in using my UMC, charging at 110V/15A, as I do not have a 20A plug.

I could not resist playing with the App while on the trip, changing the charge limit, etc, but at some point must have tripped the GFCI, which I confirmed when I got back to the car. Luckily I had plenty of range to make it home.