TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Over the air autopilot 1.0 activation/upgrade

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by ready2ridef4i, Jan 31, 2017.

  1. ready2ridef4i

    ready2ridef4i Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Southern California
    I have a 2015 model S with autopilot 1.0 hardware. I decided to activate the autopilot feature and paid the fee. It has been almost a week and autopilot has not been activated. Has anyone have the same issue?
     
  2. FlatSix911

    FlatSix911 918 Hybrid

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3,714
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Call your local Tesla center for assistance.
     
  3. croman

    croman Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1,262
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Yes, I think you have to go into a SC to actually get the software activated.
     
  4. skyhix

    skyhix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Down South
    Keep me posted on how the autopilot kicks in. I'm about to purchase my hw1 autopilot and I don't have a local service center.
     
  5. doubleohwhat

    doubleohwhat Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Alabama
    I'm currently dealing with this exact issue. I purchased the upgrade three days ago. I've been working with tech support for the last two days to get it enabled.

    OP: Definitely call in. Odds are there is a bug in the automated system and unless you alert them to the problem, you'll never get it activated.

    Nope. From what I have been told, it's supposed to be a very simple settings update over the air.
     
  6. FlatSix911

    FlatSix911 918 Hybrid

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    3,714
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    A visit to the local SC is not necessary ... I upgraded to AP with a over the air upgrade :cool:
     
  7. Maximapolak

    Maximapolak Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    North NJ / SouthCentral PA
    Did you check the menu to see if it's on there to turn on?
     
  8. wolfson292

    wolfson292 Architect

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Florida
    This can certainly be done over the air. There is a remote command they can hit to enable it, and it updates the configuration on the gateway to entitle you for AP. Just need to call them.
     
  9. doubleohwhat

    doubleohwhat Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2016
    Messages:
    406
    Location:
    Alabama
    AP1.0 was finally enabled on my car after my service center forwarded the problem to someone out in california. There definitely seems to be a bug in their automated activation procedure.
     
  10. skyhix

    skyhix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Down South
    My service center just told me that since I don't have the tech package that a Tesla ranger will need to get to car to connect it with a computer to add autopilot. I just need to schedule it now.
     
  11. skyhix

    skyhix Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Down South
    Update: my local Tesla ranger took care of it over the air waves. All good
     

Share This Page