Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Owning a Tesla can Save You Time and Money

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
An article I just finished up.

I have a friend who is as stubborn as they come, he can't stand Teslas because of the TIME it takes to fill up, specifically on long road trips. No matter what I say, he always reverts to that defense for his arguments about what Teslas and EVs are so bad.

Anyway, I did the math, A Tesla is cheaper (for me, in my economy) than a $60k Lux sedan of similar after 4-5 years of ownership. If you'd like to know more...and how much TIME a Tesla can save you...read on!

Tesla Economy: Can Owning a Tesla Save You Time and Money?

I would also add in the time and money it takes to have your car “serviced” and oil changed. I am a traveling salesman, put 36k miles on a car every year and no longer go to the Lexus dealership (owned a GS350 before) every 6 weeks. That is significant time and money saved.

Reactions: benjiejr
Your friend has decided he will not be happy with the charging delays required during a trip. He's decided the electric car is not for him. There are a number of compromises one makes with owning an electric car, just as there are compromises one makes when owning an airplane. The lengthening of trips is a real disadvantage and as long as he sees it as a deal breaker, other arguments are not going to change his mind.

There are some trips you cannot make. When I last checked, you could not drive a Tesla from Tennessee to Alaska. Color choices are limited. The paint chips. Options change without notice, sometimes significantly affecting the car's value.