Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Phantom...gain?

Creighton

Jun 13, 2019
Richmond, Virginia
If you've seen my other post, you'll know that I am an efficient driver. I want to qualify this post with this information, as it may indicate why I am observing "phantom gain" (i.e. rated vs actual miles or computer delay in calculation of rated range at the end of trip vs during/before trip). I am also a 30-70% driver religiously, and I've only been to a supercharger 4 times in the past 14 months, for a total of less than 500 miles gained.

Tips on how I averaged~190 wh/mi for 17,000 miles (so far...)

I want to come to the community again for a little clarification for a phenomenon I have noticed since the beginning of my LR M3 ownership--Phantom gain.

My commute to work is 23.2 miles in one direction. Every morning I drive these 23.2 miles with an average 160-175wh/mi energy consumption rate. This morning, I charged to exactly 200 miles of rated range. After driving the 23.2 miles, I was left with a rated range of 185 miles. Obviously there was a reduction in the amount of miles consumed that was immediately evident. I stopped to get my morning coffee, which took about 15 minutes. I returned to my car, jumped into the driver's seat, and saw that my rated range now read 192 rated miles.

This morning was by far the most drastic example that I've noticed over the last 13 months of my M3 ownership, and I'm tired of scratching my head over this and was hoping that we could compare theories or speak to people who have direct knowledge of why this occurring. This happens consistently and on a weekly basis, anywhere between 3-5 miles gained normally, and it occurs around 60-70% of the time I leave and return to my vehicle.