Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register
  • Want to remove ads? Register an account and login to see fewer ads, and become a Supporting Member to remove almost all ads.
  • The final cut of TMC Podcast #34 is available now with topics timestamped. We covered Tesla's rollercoaster prices, Toyota pushing junk science, Mike's new Model 3, Optimizing track mode for snow driving, FSD V11 apparently coming by the end of this week, and more. You can watch and check out the chat replay on YouTube.

Phone Apps? New to Tesla with Refresh Model S

Tam

Nov 25, 2012
Visalia, CA
So I'm new to Tesla and EV's in general with my recent purchase of an LR Model S. What phone apps (besides the Tesla app) are "must have" and why? Thanks for your time and help!
The only phone app that I've ever used for the past 9 years since 2012 for 3 different Tesla cars is "Tesla" for android.

If you have an Apple watch, then I imagine it would be nice to get an app for that watch but I haven't used a watch ever since I discovered that I can use my cell phone as a watch and a calculator as well.

Reactions: BobbyRitz

Twiglett

Single pedal driver
Oct 3, 2014
Austin
So I'm new to Tesla and EV's in general with my recent purchase of an LR Model S. What phone apps (besides the Tesla app) are "must have" and why? Thanks for your time and help!
The two biggies for me are
Plugshare for finding the closest charger while I'm out and about. It lets you see what experience others have had at different locations. Also really good for see what is around the superchargers.
and
ABetterRoutePlanner for one of the best route planners. This does waypoints, setting arrival charge levels and all sorts of stuff. Well worth it.
Both have web site versions as well

brkaus

Jul 8, 2014
Austin, TX
You do not need any, but I strongly recommend PlugShare if you need to search for charging.