Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Picked up 22 RWD after a year wait. What can I expect?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
I am a pilot and commute 190 miles each way and usually 5 round trips a month. I park in a lot where there is free charging so I will be able to charge back to 100 percent as I’m away on my three day flying trips. Can I expect to get to my 190 mile destination without having to charge driving 75-85MPH? I live in the Northern California Valley so very hot weather from May-October.

I believe that the 2022 RWD is rated for 267 miles of range. That should be doable for a 190 mile commute at extra highway speeds as long as you start near 100%. However, if it was me, I'd make sure that there was a Supercharger about 125-150 miles from each of your starting locations. That will give you peace-of-mind in case of excessive energy being used or if you have to detour on one of your trips.

I am a pilot and commute 190 miles each way and usually 5 round trips a month. I park in a lot where there is free charging so I will be able to charge back to 100 percent as I’m away on my three day flying trips. Can I expect to get to my 190 mile destination without having to charge driving 75-85MPH? I live in the Northern California Valley so very hot weather from May-October.
We turo rented a 2021 M3 SR+ last week. Impressive "base" car. Was very efficient! Got better than rated for the whole 4 day rental energy wise. Got 200 wh/mile Ave and coming from our X, that's really good. Includes 400 miles on interstate at 72-74 mph at 85-95 degs so AC on, out of 650 miles total trip.