TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

poor WiFi = Sleeping Beauty's "poison apple"

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by pilotSteve, Feb 27, 2014.

  1. pilotSteve

    pilotSteve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    Vancouver WA
    #1 pilotSteve, Feb 27, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2014
    I have marginal WiFi (from the house WAP) in my garage and have had intermittent ability to connected to MS from my iPhone. Finally I turned WiFi access off and even deleted the password configuration from my MS to force 3G connectivity when parked. Seemed to work OK but remote access takes a long time (like three time-outs on the App) before it woke up. Then all was good.

    So I've been on vacation for the last ten days and have *never* been able to wake my sleeping beauty remotely.

    I think its due to WiFi somehow being re-enabled in spite of my attempts to force 3G.

    Or maybe the Evil Stepmother snuck into my garage with the poisoned apple and now Sleeping Beauty is waiting for her handsome prince to come home and kiss her awake :biggrin:
     
  2. Zextraterrestrial

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,636
    Location:
    Humboldt/Los Altos
    I don't like that it forces you to try and wifi connect. Mine barely works in the house
    the car is outside
     
  3. Gizmotoy

    Gizmotoy Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    3,138
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    Can you tell the car to forget your wifi info? Mine pestered me incessantly when I got it to connect to a Wifi hotspot (my garage doesn't get signal), so I parked it in front of a Starbucks or McDonalds or something and connected to that once to get it to leave me alone.
     
  4. steve841

    steve841 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
    Is a wifi extender an option? $40 .... more for a high power unit .... but may solve more than the car issue.
     
  5. pilotSteve

    pilotSteve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    Vancouver WA
    I bought a power line (110V AC) extender by Cisco. Excellent WiFi signal (of course) but turns out my garage is on its own 200A sub panel (also runs two heat pumps plus my HPWC) vs. the house (where the other end of the power line extender is plugged in). So the data rate was super slow. Yikes, if its not one thing its another.
     
  6. Zextraterrestrial

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,636
    Location:
    Humboldt/Los Altos
    good idea. Might work.

    I'd rather not have wifi at all at my house but it is nice for laptop/icrap. I was hooking up a small router once and holding the plastic case and my arm started to go numb and tingly up to my shoulder. very strange and kind of scary. Wasn't an electrical shock like DC or AC to ground/neutral feeling either
     
  7. steve841

    steve841 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,397
    Location:
    Ft. Lauderdale, FL
  8. kgb

    kgb Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    605
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    As a father of a little girl, your story has blatant errors... and since I have no idea about the car technical issues, I will instead correct your story mistakes.

    Princess Aurora, who is also known as "the sleeping beauty" fell into a sleep after she pricked her finger on a spindle. On the other hand, the evil stepmother (Queen) of princess Snow White disguises herself as a little old lady and offers Snow White the poison apple before she falls into a sleep.

    I feel so manly now that I put you in your place :tongue:
     
  9. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,043
    Why not just turn the wifi completely off? It won't ask again.
     
  10. pilotSteve

    pilotSteve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    Vancouver WA
    fixed (sort of, can't seem to edit the title). Lets not mash up our fairy tales. (Or it could be an episode of Once Upon A Time) :)
     
  11. Zextraterrestrial

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,636
    Location:
    Humboldt/Los Altos
    and how exactly do you do this? every time you turn the car back on I think it defaults to the setup wifi screen if there is a network it can 'see'. I have turned off wifi and need to press the 'no' button every morning
     
  12. dave

    dave Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2012
    Messages:
    451
    Location:
    Greater Cincinnati
    Mine successfully connects to my wifi and it STILL asks me to connect very morning even though it's already connected at full strength!!! Very annoying.
     
  13. andrewket

    andrewket 2014 S P85DL, 2016 X P90DL (soon 100)

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    5,043
    There is a slider at the top for on/off, I think. I'm not in front of my car right now. I turned it off and it has never asked me to connect again.

    I am still running 5.6. Maybe it is a bug that was introduced later.
     
  14. iffatall

    iffatall Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    I don't think it can automatically choose to try to connect to your home network, when you have made it forget the network. Did you make it forget the hostspot altogether or just the password?

    There is a short discussion about this here:
    Set Up WiFi Popup
     
  15. pilotSteve

    pilotSteve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    Vancouver WA
    I'm starting to think my won't-wake-up problem goes deeper than WiFi vs. 3G. After returning home from my 2 weeks of traveling I find the car works great (wake up is normal when opening the door, and handles always auto-extend in the morning) *BUT* my remote access (iPhone and visibletesla) always say car is in deep sleep and does not awake even after 3-6 minutes of retrying.

    I've emailed my local service to see if they can remotely contact the car and find out anything abnormal. No response yet.

    But the welcome home kiss was good for me anyhow..... :biggrin:
     

Share This Page