TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Posting pictures

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by shepali, Jun 14, 2014.

  1. shepali

    shepali Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    N. Scottsdale, AZ
    When I post pictures they show up in a box that says 'attachments'. I use the little picture icon that's next to the video icon.

    Some other people's show up within their thread. How do you post them that way?
     
  2. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    13,624
    Location:
    Texas
    Choose the third icon in the group of five icons on the right above the text input box. (Reads "insert image" when you mouse-over).
     
  3. shepali

    shepali Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    N. Scottsdale, AZ
    test.
    That's the button I"ve been using. 3rd from the right, or the 3rd icon in the right box.
    Still shows up as 'attached images'.
    Could it be because i'm on an ipad?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    13,624
    Location:
    Texas
    The picture shows up inline for me. That is your test image shows up inline and not as an attachment.
     
  5. shepali

    shepali Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    N. Scottsdale, AZ
    so weird. here's a screen print of what I see. It must be the ipad. But oddly enough, other people's attachments can show both inline, or as attachments. So....that doesn't really make sense that the ipad could be doing that. I guess it just doesn't matter. But I hate not knowing stuff like this!!
     

    Attached Files:

  6. brianman

    brianman Burrito Founder

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2011
    Messages:
    16,741
    I don't know why it's not working, but here's a workaround.

    On a desktop machine with IE you can do the following (not sure how it maps to IPad or desktop Safari):
    1. Load your post in separate browser tab/window.
    2. Right-click, choose properties, and copy the URL.
    Code:
    http://www.teslamotorsclub.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=51993&stc=1&d=1403416606
    3. Observe the attachmentid value (51993).
    4. Edit your post and add an ATTACH line like so (but without the extra spaces):
    Code:
    [ ATTACH ]51993[ /ATTACH ]
    5. Click the Save button to commit your post edit.

    View attachment 51993
     
  7. George S. Bower

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Tonto Basin, Az
    test
    my 2012-4.jpg test again
    my 2012-6.jpg
     
  8. SMAlset

    SMAlset Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2017
    Messages:
    2,796
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #8 SMAlset, Dec 21, 2017
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2017
    I realize this is a pretty old post and hopefully the OP has figured this out by now :p, but for anyone else wondering, I post photos from my iPad or iPhone all the time with no issues or resizing of photos and it's pretty fast and easy.

    You want to use the Upload an Image/File button. Then for images stored in my device's Photos, I'll select Photo Library. You'll have a choice. For posting here you'll want to select the photo from Moments (instead of the larger sized image of the same photos stored in Camera Roll). Select your image/s and click Done. The forum will upload the image and place it at the bottom below the text window. You'll see a small image of each photo you uploaded. You'll have a choice of display next--Insert Thumbnail or Insert Full Image. If you have multiple images you'll also have the option of inserting all of them at the same time at your insertion point. Otherwise place your cursor where you want each of your image/s to appear and click the appropriate Insert selection option. That should do it. There's a delete button off to the far right if you change your mind about the photo.

    BTW the only photos I've had to resize that came from Moments are the panoramic photos I've taken with my iPhone like of a row of SuperChargers or row of Roadsters on display. The file size was just too large for here and I had to resize them manually before added them back to my Photo Library (which automatically puts a slimmed down version in Moments for you). Otherwise no resizing issues using the Moments images.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC