Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register
This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hello chaps, total Newbie here (my apologies i know it can be annoying)

I’ve gone through some basic numbers and it’s looking like the savings would be pretty big if I were to move to a Tesla.

I currently have a Bmw M4 (weekend toy which I occasionally use for work too) and a Honda Insight Mk2 for the main graft.

The Insight is obviously fairly inexpensive doing around 50mpg and costs £10 per year road tax, however due to the mileage I do it costs around £480-£500 per month on fuel.

I generally do a maximum mileage of around 210 miles in a day (2x days a week) but usually around 100 miles.
I’m a company rep, so I generally travel to a area and then do approx 8-10 visits in that area before making my way home.
I can stop to charge if needs be, but I’ll be honest best and say it wouldn’t always be ideal for me.

My brother does the same job albeit slightly less mileage and uses a I3 REX which yields pretty good savings compared to his previous hybrids (CT200h, civic IMA, Insight etc) he has done a quick calculation that it would cost around £70-100 in electric costs for me charging at home.

My plan is to sell the Insight and M4 for a Tesla (probably S85 as my budget would force a early model) as obviously not paying 2x lots of tax, insurance etc will make it justifiable.

My questions are the following if anyone would be so kind to assist were possible :)

1- What sort of Range do people see in real world conditions? (In the wet dark winter days doing 75mph)

2- My working area is North wales, Crewe, Chester and Shrewsbury. Are there any superchargers in these areas?

3- I heard batteries degrade over time, is there a particular way to check or a age/mileage of vehicle to avoid?

Thanks in advance for any help guys :)

Regards, Stephen