TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Power walls not leaving Standby Mode

Discussion in 'Tesla Energy' started by Lloyd, Sep 22, 2019.

  1. Lloyd

    Lloyd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,079
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    I have two recent powerwalls installed about two months ago. Since installed, they will not come out of standby mode and begin charging on their own. In order to get the powerwalls to charge, I have to put it into backup mode, to kickstart them to charge, then later put it into TOU mode in order to get them to work properly. Once charged they will discharge properly on the TOU schedule, but when it goes into standby at night, they will not wake-up the next day. They will continue to discharge several percent a day from the minimum level to Zero until I intervene as above.

    Has anyone else had this issue? Is there a fix?? it seems like a software problem, but Tesla does not seem to be able to identify the problem.
     
  2. zanary

    zanary Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    797
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    If you have PV/Solar they will ONLY charge via solar and not from the grid.

    if you have Powerwall only with no PV/Solar then they should be charging during your off peak time schedule that you setup. In this scenario it’s possible that your installed did not set it up correctly in the wizard. This might need a call to the Powerwall help desk.
     
  3. Lloyd

    Lloyd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,079
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    Yes 1/2 dozen calls and 8 revisits from the installation team with no results! I have PW with solar and have to go through the sequence described to initiate charging of the powerwalls
     
  4. miimura

    miimura Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4,725
    Location:
    Los Altos, CA
    There is definitely something wrong with your system. You need to get your issue escalated. I've heard of a couple people who had to have the Gateway computer replaced because it was never working right from initial installation.
     
  5. Lloyd

    Lloyd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,079
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    This is my second gateway computer....... First would not recognize the sensors properly, so they degraded the firmware/software version, and ultimately replaced it.
     
  6. Lloyd

    Lloyd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    6,079
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    This ended up being a software issue. Tesla had to downgrade my software version in order to get the hardware to perform properly. Not sure what will happen the next time the software upgrades!
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Formed in 2006, Tesla Motors Club (TMC) was the first independent online Tesla community. Today it remains the largest and most dynamic community of Tesla enthusiasts. Learn more.
  • Do you value your experience at TMC? Consider becoming a Supporting Member of Tesla Motors Club. As a thank you for your contribution, you'll get nearly no ads in the Community and Groups sections. Additional perks are available depending on the level of contribution. Please visit the Account Upgrades page for more details.


    SUPPORT TMC