Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Powerwall 2, Swell and SDG&E does this make sense?

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Hi folks, newbie here. Am impressed by the level of knowledge and discussion here. Appreciate some feedback on a scenario that has probably been asked in various forms before, but even after reading many posts, am not sophisticated enough to understand.

In SDGE pricing EV-TOU2. Have an 6.0 kwh PV, NEM 1.0, 2 meters (one for house, one for EV). Am generating more than consumed, paying about $15/mo after all fees, so pretty close to net zero. In the past six months in summer, overall I generate 2000kwh total more than consumed (negative 300kwh/mo).

I signed up for two PW2 with Swell back in Jan, level 1 SGIP. Total cost for 2 PW2 is $20k gross, minus rebates out of pocket is $8.5k. Final numbers are still not in since I haven't heard from them in months. But the overall cost seems high. I don't know that the ROI, if any, will offset this cost.

From reading this forum, it seems that we cannot really sell back to the grid during peak hours due to existing PW2 software (or something like that). Given this is the case, from a cost analysis standpoint (besides backup power purposes), it seems that it does not make financial sense at this time.

If rate structure changes in future and we can tweak PW2 to offload to grid at specific times, then the calculus changes, I presume?

So bottom line:
1) Does getting PW2 make financial sense?
2) Is Swell doing shenanigans and overcharging for this project?
3) Is SDG&E EV-TOU2 the best rate structure for me since I'm only drawing from the grid during super off peak period? I've read elsewhere that the DR-SES can be more advantageous.

Many thanks in advance!
-pb

Attachments

• sdge1.png
    sdge1.png
    283.2 KB · Views: 101
  • sdge2.png
    sdge2.png
    211.6 KB · Views: 82
  • sdge3.png
    sdge3.png