Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Pre conditioning for other charging networks....

Neilda

Dec 18, 2020
UK
Moderator comment - thread renamed for clarity from "Using other charging networks...."

Just curious - as I haven't seen an answer out there in web land.

I have set up a couple of charging accounts/apps on a 'just-in-case' basis. Let's say I wanted to use a BP charger - how do you warm up/precondition the battery in those circumstances? As far as I can see, my TM3 can only navigate to Tesla chargers and only preconditions the battery if you've navigated to one.

Probably a dumb question - if so, apologies. I'm new to it. I did try to search for the answer.

Last edited by a moderator:

Mr H

Jan 6, 2020
Manchester
Tesla have promised to add 3rd party fast chargers to the nav so it will pre condition on the way. Currently it will only do it on the way to a supercharger, but erm, spirited driving is another way

Blokie

2021 M3LR
Nov 7, 2020
UK
..or if you know where you're going, then "pretend" to navigate to the closest SC on the route and hopefully it's close enough to precondition. I suspect it's only really going to be a benefit with the ultra fast chargers - if you're going to a 50Kw charger I suspect it won't really need any preconditioning, but 100+ would definitely see a benefit.

15Peter20

Oct 26, 2020
Norfolk
Just curious - as I haven't seen an answer out there in web land.

I have set up a couple of charging accounts/apps on a 'just-in-case' basis. Let's say I wanted to use a BP charger - how do you warm up/precondition the battery in those circumstances? As far as I can see, my TM3 can only navigate to Tesla chargers and only preconditions the battery if you've navigated to one.

Probably a dumb question - if so, apologies. I'm new to it. I did try to search for the answer.