Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Price comparison of Tesla Solar Panels to others

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
Does anyone have data on how much tesla charges for their solar panels? I love the blacked out look of their traditional panels over some of the other manufactures. I was looking at some mission solar panels that are USA made and they are around .71 cents per kW. I’m starting preliminary research on installing some traditional panels but I’m trying to estimate ROI before I spend the money.

They call them theirs. The Buffalo plant (Gigafactory 2) is where Tesla and Panasonic partnered to produce the panels.

As a CA resident I've gotten bids from many installers and Tesla always ends up cheaper. They also end up being the biggest headache to deal with but could be worth the few thousand dollar savings that comes with that.

Panels are roughly 30% of the cost. Between your stated $0.71-$1.00 is a good benchmark. Having run thru the ROI numbers. They pretty line up to national standards. Time of use rates tend to push towards the shorter ROI especially if the TOU rates are like 4:1 peak:eek:ff-peak. My advice is to not get hung up on ROI because its in years. If you model with tiered rates, the best ROI is a really small system, but saves the least amount of money over a 25 year warrantied life of the system.

Calculate Your Solar Panel Payback Period | EnergySage

How the heck do you get Tesla Energy/Tesla Solar to contact you? I've filled out the forms numerous times over the past few months and no one ever calls or emails. I wanted to see how Tesla compares to the LG LG365Q1C-A5 panels that a local installer proposes I get.

I went through this several months ago when we were considering adding solar/PW to our house. I filled out the online forms multiple times - with no response.