TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Problem with copying text from posts

Discussion in 'Site Feedback' started by GSP, Mar 7, 2015.

  1. GSP

    GSP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,996
    I tried to copy an adress in a post in older to paste it into google maps. The ability to select text on my iPad is not there, I can just magnify it instead. If I cannot select I cannot copy.

    I don't know if this is a problem with my iPad, or something that changed at TMC. It certainly is a capability that I like to have.

    GSP
     
  2. araxara

    araxara S-P85#3,218 X-90D#3,299

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Have no problem copying text on my iPad Air 2, either in Safari or TapaTalk. You do need to copy the text before you start replying to a message.
     
  3. swaltner

    swaltner Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    @GSP, what app are you using to read TMC posts? When using Tapatalk Pro, I'm unable to copy text in the normal forum view. If I load a post in Tapatalk using Web View or jump over to Safari, I can select and copy text. Just wondering if you're running into limitations of Tapatalk....
     
  4. mkjayakumar

    mkjayakumar Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,736
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Same issue here. While reading posts Tapatalk does not let you select text.

    But when writing in edit mode, I can.

    Dumb as a dodo.
     
  5. GSP

    GSP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,996
    Thanks for the help.

    I am using Safari on my iPad. It is working fine now, so I suspect it is something on my device (or its operator!) that caused it.

    GSP
     

Share This Page