TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker and becoming a Supporting Member. For more info: Support TMC

Purchasing a spot on Ebay Question

Discussion in 'Model 3' started by Phantom_Frog, Jun 13, 2018.

1. Phantom_Frog

Phantom_Frog Member

Hi,
    I am new to the Model 3 Forum. I am a current Model X owner.

My little brother is in the market for a model 3 and has seen a way to purchase a reservation from someone on ebay.

I know very little about the model 3 process, but is this possible? Has anyone else on this forum purchased a reservation from someone else and actually received the car? What are the pitfalls?

Thank you for your help and input, it is much appreciated. He is eager to join the Tesla family.

2. Daniel in SD

Daniel in SD Active Member

I have a coworker who purchased a spot on ebay and had his car in two weeks. They just changed all the account info to his info.

3. SD_Engnr

SD_Engnr Member

Yes, it is possible. Since you are a current owner, why don't you make the reservation for him? It may take a couple of weeks, but you'll likely be invited to configure in a short amount of time.

Otherwise, he'll likely have to spend a few hundred dollars for the reservation, and the only benefit of buying the reservation is getting the car a bit sooner.

• Like x 3
  4. Phantom_Frog

Phantom_Frog Member

I would love to buy one for him and get him one in weeks, but I was told from multiple sources at my local Tesla store that they ended the current owner priority program. So I would be put at the back of the line. My gallery advisor told me that they ended this on May 22nd.

• Informative x 2
  5. T-Will

T-Will Member

I think this would be the first I've heard of this. I wonder if Tesla corporate could confirm this?

6. SD_Engnr

SD_Engnr Member