TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Question about AutoPilot/AutoSpeed Control

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by Mones, Oct 23, 2015.

  1. Mones

    Mones Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    I just recently got my Tesla (Wooot!)

    I obviously tested out Autopilot the second I was comfortable behind the wheel and in the car.

    I had a question hopefully someone can help with (or perhaps I need to just try it more often):

    If going at a speed (lets say 100km/h) and I engage either autopilot or speed control, it engages just fine and holds the speed at the appropriate level. If I need to brake, speed up, slow down or cancel, it does that just fine as well.

    However: If i want to re-engage (and lets say I'm now driving at 110km/h and want to engage at that level), it always drops back to 100km/h (the initial speed setting). Is there any way to clear out the memory of the previous speed setting and have it only accept the new setting? I know I can use the handle to move the set speed up or down, I just like being able to set my speed according to what I want at the time versus what I set maybe 10 min ago.

    Thanks!
     
  2. Griffinlair

    Griffinlair Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Push the selector away from you, then re-pull towards you twice to engage AP at the new current speed.
     
  3. Max*

    Max* Autopilot != Autonomous

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    4,887
    Location:
    NoVa
    Not sure this works, I think it remembers the old speed still...


    OP: After some messing around, I have a method that seems to work: Push up on the selector (as if you want to add 5mph), it'll lock into your current speed.
     
  4. bancroftc

    bancroftc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Alternatively, when AP is off you can lift up or down on the cruise stalk to set a new (current) TACC speed. You would then have to double pull towards you to engage autosteer.
     
  5. Mones

    Mones Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Thanks! I'll try that today.
     

Share This Page