TMC is an independent, primarily volunteer organization that relies on ad revenue to cover its operating costs. Please consider whitelisting TMC on your ad blocker or making a Paypal contribution here: paypal.me/SupportTMC

Question about maps

Discussion in 'Model S: User Interface' started by pony1982, Apr 28, 2016.

  1. pony1982

    pony1982 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    London
    Got my model-s on order, expecting delivery in July and am very excited.

    One question I havent been able to find a clear answer to is whether or not tesla uses google's traffic information for navigation, route planning etc. The website says

    MapSimple, intuitive Google Maps™ with real time traffic information
    However, I've found a number of forum posts which suggests it doesn't. Answer from a model s owner would be helpful.

    Thanks
     
  2. Kim.T

    Kim.T Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Location:
    Denmark
    To be able to handle offline navigation Tesla uses Navigon as the main navigation. On the 17" you will see a Google map where the route is drawn onto. But on the little screen you will see Navigons maps.
    And here we have a problem. The Navigon maps are pretty old, and when using AutoPilot/TACC they depend on an updated map.
    Nearby my home we have 11Km of new highway (over 1½ year ago it opened). But Navigon does not know it, and it is very annoying to use TACC/AP because the car thinks it is driving out on a field and therefor constantly chaging the speed
     
  3. kavyboy

    kavyboy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Location:
    Magnolia, TX
    It does use traffic. I know because I have had it change the route mid-trip. It pops up a small message saying something like "Route changed. Saved X minutes." It has also had me exit the highway and drive on the feeder road to avoid slow traffic on the highway.
     
  4. Boatguy

    Boatguy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    It definitely uses traffic information, there is a setting for how much of an improvement is necessary to trigger a change in route. I don't know for a fact if it uses Google's traffic information, or someone else's, there are many providers.

    You can download the owner's manual from your MyTesla web page. Here is the excerpt from the US manual:

    "Model S can also monitor traffic to your work location (on weekday mornings) and to your home location (on weekday evenings) and advise you if there is a better route in situations where tra c conditions will cause a delay. You can set the time savings required before the advice is given by touching Controls > Settings > Apps > Maps & Navigation > Min Improvement for Commute Advice."
     
  5. ibdb

    ibdb 3 Car Garage and a 5 Car Life

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2015
    Messages:
    220
    Location:
    Puyallup, WA
    While it does use traffic information, how, when and why it chooses to use it is not predictable.

    I've had it choose a shorter, slower route over a slightly longer and much faster route. I've had it try to reroute me to a longer and slower route over the shorter and faster route I was already driving. I've had it choose dramatically longer and slower routes over notably shorter and faster routes.

    Sometimes it gets it right, or is reasonably close. Sometimes I can't figure out the logic at all. I'm not sure if there are places with better information feeding the route/traffic logic than where I live, but I'm in a reasonably metropolitan area with a decent number of Teslas about.
     
  6. jerry33

    jerry33 S85 - VIN:P05130 - 3/2/13

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    12,753
    Location:
    Texas
    As far as I know, it doesn't depend on communicating with other Teslas, only Google's data is used. And yes, it's somewhat unpredictable, but overall it's saved me more time than it loses, because it appears to get the major delays right (e.g. two hour accident on the freeway).
     
  7. pony1982

    pony1982 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    London
    Thanks everyone for the answers.

    The navigion bit sounds rubbish to be honest. That said, if it does use googles traffic data to plan routes, I'll be pretty pleased.

    I currently use google maps on my phone and I guess I'll just have to run the two side be side on the new car when it arrives to see which is better.

    Thanks again.
     
  8. amallah

    amallah Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Monkton, MD
    It's nice to see a general path on the big touchscreen, but I end up putting my destination on both car and phone on Waze and follow the Waze instructions and use the larger screen as a general "trip progress" screen.
     
  9. pony1982

    pony1982 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    London
    Bit disappointing that we'd have to enter the destination twice.

    Just wish that they'd enable car play or Android auto. Bottom line is that none of the car systems (any brand) Are near the quality is the mobile phone interfaces
     

Share This Page