Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Question for Tesla Model 3 Uber Drivers

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
So I'm a taxi driver and know the future is green.

All diesel cars are looking to be banned in the UK by 2030, whether they extend to 2040 is another guess.

What I want to know is, what is the real world range in the city for Model 3s?

Are they as economical as people are saying or is the range in the city terrible due to stop/starting due to a lot of lights, traffic etc.

Also are they comfortable to be in for 8+ hours per day?

Cheers.

Oli.

It took a good year for my butt to formb the seat to my liking. Prior to that, on long (1+ hour) trips, taking those first ten steps out of the car was painful. Those side bolster things dug into the sides of my legs too much. But that's me at 6' and ~300 lbs, if you are skinny you might not have this problem.

Do not work for Uber, they rip their drivers off big time. Try Lyft, not saying they are much better, but I will never give a dollar to Uber.

The economics of the car depends on how you’re charging and what the cost is. When I charge at home, it cost 3-5 cents (US) per mile to drive. When I use a supercharger, it’s 9-11 cents per mile. The other factor in the economics is not having to do oil changes. The maintenance schedule for a Tesla is to look at the brakes and change air filters about every two years, and buy tires. Teslas tend to go through tires a little faster than ICE cars (probably the weight and instant torque). My car has 21k miles on the tires and they are crossing into the yellow for tread depth and I will probably need to get new tires in 4-9k miles.

I take 8-14 hour drives 3-5 times a month and I find the seats comfortable.

All diesel cars are looking to be banned in the UK by 2030, whether they extend to 2040 is another guess.