Welcome to Tesla Motors Club
Discuss Tesla's Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, Roadster and More.
Register

Question on extremely high energy usage

This site may earn commission on affiliate links.
As a new Tesla driver, I'm hoping someone can help me understand energy usage over 900 wh (off the graph actually). I just happened to look at the energy graph and noticed the last few miles showed very high usage. All I was doing is driving slowly around a parking lot and practicing backing up with the cameras. I drove around my neighborhood and it slowly came back down. Anyway, I will include some pictures and any feedback is appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_0687.JPG
    IMG_0687.JPG
    386.8 KB · Views: 290
  • IMG_0688.JPG
    IMG_0688.JPG
    263.5 KB · Views: 117
  • IMG_0689.JPG
    IMG_0689.JPG
    275.4 KB · Views: 110
  • IMG_0690.JPG
    IMG_0690.JPG
    289.3 KB · Views: 119
Well, considering the car shows the temp is 104°F, I imagine that you were driving around so slowly that climate control accounted for a significant amount of your consumption.

The longer it takes you to drive a mile, the more energy the climate control is going to use over the course of that mile, and the higher your Wh/mi will be.

The instant range was really short (like 80 miles). Big Earl, that is what I was thinking/hoping. I had air on cold and nit putting any real miles on. I just could not make sense of the high usage spanning 2 miles. At most I drove a 1/2 mile in the parking lot.

If it’s been off the charger for awhile it’s not uncommon to see very high wh/mi during the first few miles especially if you have AC or heat on. Winter months are the worst since the car aggressively heats the motors so you get consistent regen even in cold weather.